Release 2.19p

No Fear Bridge 

♠   ♣ 

if you are someone who has recently started learning bridge and you would like the chance to play without time pressure and with  someone to ask if you need help, then you might like to play in our No Fear Sessions every Thursday Evening at 07.10pm.  There is no need to book, just turn up – there is a host so you can play without a partner.  These Thursday evenings are also suitable for anyone who prefers to play a relaxed game and everyone is most welcome.

Criteria for Club Championship Events


These will be held on Week 2 Wednesdays. Non eligible pairs may play without standing. 

For the Vera Walton Trophy and the Haslock trophy, in order to be eligible, the pair must have an average club handicap of 6 or higher.

The Joan Aspland Shield competition is open to all members and is handicapped.


These will be held on Week 3 Mondays. Non eligible teams may play without standing.

To be eligible for the Joyce Allard Trophy the team must have an average club handicap of 6 or higher. 

The handicap is based on NGS bands and is revised monthly.

Club Policy for Face to Face Bridge

In all face-to-face sessions held at the Club, including Yorkshire league matches, the Club's Covid-driven policy will apply.

We aim to adequately space the tables and maintain good air quality by natural ventilation and air purifiers. Hand sanitiser and wipes will be on hand. 

Recent Updates
News Page
26th Mar 2023 20:00 BST
25th Mar 2023 10:45 BST
Welcome to Bradford Bridge Club
24th Mar 2023 18:35 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2023
News Page
This page has information and news of interest to the members. For a full list of forthcoming events, see "Calendar" on the menu and for a list of results see "Results".

Twenty four Jackpot evenings were held during this year and Congratulations go to the winner, Stuart Davies, who accumulated 967 points. In second place was Alan Jarvis with 727 points and Mark Armitage was third with 594 points.  Peter Smith came fourth and Harry Hoyle was fifth.  Very well done to all.

Last updated : 20th Nov 2022 16:34 GMT
The Joan Aspland Shield Competition

The Joan Aspland Sheild competition was held after the club A.G.M. on Saturday 28th January. Fifteen pairs took part and congratulations go to Lauri and Margaret Andrews who were the winners both before and after handicap. In second place, also before and after handicap, were John and Pauline Middleton.  Elaine Van Heel and Madeleine Newby came third, very closely followed by Ray Foster and Hazel Greenwood.  Very well done everyone.

Last updated : 28th Jan 2023 19:18 GMT
The Flitch Competition

On Wednesday 15th February the Flitch cpmpetition for married couples was held within the main drive.  It was nip and tuck all evening, but congratulations go to Stephen and Sharon Halston who were the winners with 55.56%. Second were Mark and Louise Armitage with 53.70%, closely followed, in third place, by Lauri and Margaret Andrews with 53.24%.  A great result for all.

Last updated : 16th Feb 2023 09:21 GMT
Men's Teams and Ladies' Teams Championship

The Men's and Ladies' Team club championship competitions took place on Monday 20th February. The rather disappointing turnout of five teams, illness being one factor, meant that only two men's teams and two ladies' teams qualified for the event.  All five teams competed against each other and Congratulations go to Paul Belsten, Stuart Davies, Mark Armitage and Steve Blackburn and Elaine Van Heel, Madeleine Newby, Susan Hoyle and Pat Benson who were the winners.

Last updated : 21st Feb 2023 08:46 GMT
Men's Pairs and Ladies' Pairs Competition

The competition for the Men's and Ladies' Pairs took place on Wednesday 15th March. 

All players competed in one mixed movement and Congratulations go to the Men's winners, George Bak and Stuart Davies and to the Ladies' Susan Hoyle and Jean Britteon.  In second place in each section were Oliver Cowan and Alan Jarvis and Sandra Andrews and Louise Armitage.  Well done all pairs.

Last updated : 22nd Mar 2023 17:21 GMT
Club Championship Handicap Teams Competition

The Club Champioship Handicap Teams competition took place on Monday 20th March and congratulations go to the winners who were Paul Belsten, Stuart Davies, Mark Armitage and George Bak. 

Well done all.

Last updated : 26th Mar 2023 20:00 BST