Unit 147, Washington Bridge League
Unit Knockout

The WBL Unit Knockout is a single-elimination knockout with the time and place of matches determined by the participants (most matches are played at players' homes).  The deadline for entering the 2019 WBL Unit Knockout is February 7th.

There will be three flights of play:  Flight A (open), Flight B, plus a Flight C for non-life masters with fewer than 500 masterpoints.  The masterpoint cutoff for Flight B and Flight C will be determined by the coordinator after reviewing the entries and the masterpoints of the teams entered.  A 0-100 flight may be instituted if entries warrant.

For Flight C, the seeding will be random draw.  For Flights A and B, the GNT qualifier held on January 31st will be used as a factor in seeding; however, you don't have to play in that game in order to play in the Unit KO.  Members of a Unit KO team who play on different teams on January 31st will have different seed numbers.

The cost for the Unit KO is $30/team for the whole event.  The winning team in each flight of the 2019 Unit KO will be awarded a cash prize equal to their entry fee.

Contact Steve Robinson to find teammates for Flight A, for more information, or to sign up a team of 4-6 players:

email:  robinswr@erols.com

phone:  703-379-4371

snail mail:  2891 S. Abingdon Street, #A2, Arlington, VA  22206

Contact Chuck Dearolf to find teammates for Flight B or Flight C at dearolfc@mail.nih.gov or 518-596-2979.


2018 winners:

Flight A:  Shawn Stringer, Ellen Cherniavsky, Bill Pettis, Beth Palmer, Bill Cole

Flight B:  Mike Berard, Murat Berk, Hakan Berk, Peter Van Zijl, Richard Wissing