Unit 147, Washington Bridge League
Awards and Masterpoint Races

Machlin Sportsmanship Award:  Mark Lavine (2018 recipient)

In 2006, the WBL initiated an annual award, the Machlin Trophy for Sportsmanship, in honor of Jerry Machlin, one of the greatest directors the game has ever known. The criteria for awarding the trophy are to:  (1) demonstrate strong ethical standards and a commitment to active ethics (e.g., full disclosure of systems and agreements to opponents, etc.); (2) behave graciously at the table after bad results or good results; (3) exhibit exemplary behavior at all times toward partner and opponents; (4) demonstrate an ability to get along with multiple partners; and (5) demonstrate a willingness to help mentor other players in the game.  A winner doesn't necessarily have to satisfy all five, but these are the main criteria that the selection committee will consider.  Past recipients of the award are: Dr. Charles Stenger, Peter Boyd, James Geist, Rose Berman, Barbara Doran, Millard Nachtwey, Paul Leopold, Bob Bell, Audrey Marbach, Dick Wegman, Carole Banks and Barbara Summers.  Each year, a committee of the five most recent winners, with the longest standing acting as the Chair, recommends a candidate to the Unit Game Chief Director for final approval.

Nadine Wood Service Award:  Don Berman (2019 recipient, in appreciation of his long-time volunteer efforts as webmaster of the WBL website, as well as his many other volunteer efforts on behalf of WBL)

In 2011, the WBL initiated an award for outstanding volunteer service (to be given no more than every 2 years) in honor of Nadine Wood, one of WBL's foremost volunteers (her efforts were not just at the local level, and ACBL's national volunteer-of-the-year award is also named after Nadine). Over many years, she gave a great deal to bridge in our area.  The award is given to a person who has contributed over a number of years through exemplary and outstanding volunteer service. Volunteer activities to be considered include, but are not limited to helping provide hospitality, such as cooking or preparing food, buying and delivering refreshments or other supplies, helping with logistics, such as parking, acting as a guaranteed partner, and other activities that contribute to an enhanced bridge playing experience.  Past recipients of this award are Frances Burke (long-time Membership Secretary of WBL) and Kitty Gottfried (Hospitality Chair after Nadine's passing and Nadine's most frequent assistant in providing hospitality before that).

Robinson Trophy Pairs:  Steve Robinson and William Cole (2018 winners)

This trophy is awarded to the winners of the 2-session pairs championship held the Saturday of the Potomac Valley Sectional (the third sectional of the year, held in the late spring or summer).

Eynon Trophy Teams:  Vincent Wilmot Jr., Michael Chelst, David Genne, Sven Pride (2019 winners)

This trophy is awarded to the winners of the Sunday open swiss teams held the Sunday of the D.C. Championship Sectional (the fourth sectional of the year, held in October).

2018 WBL Masterpoint Race winners:

     Lovenberg Trophy (open):  Brad Theurer

     Cohen Trophy (under 1500):  Peter Van Zijl

     Tubbs Trophy (NLM/under 500):  Alexander Stille

     Woolridge Trophy (under 20):  Elliot Bernold

2017-18 WBL/NVBA Player of the Year:  Peter Boyd (open), Brian Sutton (non-LM)

The WBL/NVBA Player of the Year Award is awarded jointly by the Washington Bridge League and the Northern Virginia Bridge Association to the player who wins the most masterpoints (and satisfies participation requirements) at WBL and NVBA tournaments during the award period, and to the player who wins the most masterpoints during that period and began the period as a non-life master with under 500 masterpoints.