Spade Heart  Diamond Club

EBU Annual Masterpoint Competition 2018

Lincolnshire CBA Prize Winners

Category 1 (Life Masters & Above)
Maurice Lynn

Category 2 (National & Premier National Masters)
Nick Hunter

Category 3 (Regional & Premier Regional Masters)
Adrian Wilson

Category 4 (Star, Tournament, Premier & Premier Tournament Masters)
Margaret Shelley

Category 5 (County Masters, Masters & Advanced Masters)
Roy Brixton

Category 6 (District Masters & Below)
Jane Brown

Recent Updates
Archived News
12th Jun 2019 09:36 BST
EBU & Inter County Calendar
10th Jun 2019 12:17 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2019
Welcome to Lincolnshire Contract Bridge Association

Welcome to the Lincolnshire Contract Bridge Association web site.

The Association was founded in 1946.  Its aims are to promote and further bridge in Lincolnshire, to organise competitions in the County and to participate in matches with other counties.

Lincolnshire Bridge Clubs

AGM & Herbert Trophy Pairs

The Association's AGM was held at Dunholme on Sunday 2nd June. Turn out was good with more than 30 members attending.  The Officers' reports were generally good, attendance at the County events was stable or improving and plans are afoot for the County to participate in Northern and Midland League events once more.  We also look forward to our Vice-Chair's report following his visit to the EBU meeting at the Chelsea Bridge Club in May. Paul Wokes has stepped down as Secretary and we give him our thanks for all his years of service to the County.  He will be replaced by Sue Barraclough.  All other officers and committee members remain as last year.  Following the AGM, 16 pairs fought for the Bill & Eileen Herbert Trophy.  Congratulations to the winners, Maureen Parsons & Maurice Ladlow, closely pursued by Chris Phillips & Alan Millington.

Thanks to all those who supported this event, and to our Competitions Secretary Glynn Elwick for producing another very enjoyable afternoon of bridge.

The events for next year will be published as soon as the Committee has approved them.

Inter County Bridge

Your Competition Secretary (Glynn) and newly appointed Assistant Competition Secretary (Kiat) have been busy behind the scenes to bring inter-county bridge back to Lincolnshire.  They are very pleased to announce that the county will be sending representative teams to the following, prestigious events in our part of the world:

* President's Cup: 1 x Team of 10 (see below): 29th-30th June 2019 – at Bradford BC
* Midland Counties Challenge Bowl: 2 x Teams of 4: 7th July 2019 - Spondon
* Northern Bridge League: 1 x Team of 8: 4 Saturdays, July-Oct 2019 - Yorks/Lancs

Details can be found on our Calendar, and by following the links to Kiat’s event calendar.

Selection for the teams are open to all and already we have been in touch with more than 30 of the most experienced and in-form players in the county.  Additionally, if you and your partner wish to be considered please contact either Glynn or Kiat who will add you both to our availability checker (so you can show for which events you are available).  We are also interested in growing opportunities to represent the county at all levels of ability from improvers up to advanced players and this could take the form of inter- or intra-county events between clubs or representative teams. 

The following pairs will represent the County in the President’s Cup

Kiat Huang & Mark Wardell, Chris Phillips & Alan Millington, Reg Loosley & Aaron Hutton, Mike Waters & Malcolm Hammond, Nick Hunter & Ruby Schnalke, Paul Wokes & John Brocklehurst.

The following pairs will represent the County in the Midland Counties Challenge Bowl

Ron Wall & Brian Smith, Maurice Ladlow & Maureen Parsons, John Gaunt & Debbie Burton, Nick Hunter & Ruby Schnalke

Tollemache Qualifier November 2019

We would like to get started on selecting a Tolle team for 2019 a bit earlier this year. The main reason is so that we can get accommodation booked in good time and that would mean that we can stay at the hotel venue. So, if you would like to be considered for selection for the 2019 team then throw your hat into the ring and let me know that you are interested. Hopefully we can get the side sorted out in the next two or three months.The event takes place on November 16/17th at the De Vere Hotel, Staverton, Daventry. Glynn

 Hats thrown into the ring :- Paul Wokes & John Brocklehurst, Mike Llewellyn & Glynn Elwick, Nick Hunter & Ruby Schnalke, Andrew Lewis & Phillip Harland, Mark Wardell & Sue York

Waitrose Trophy
Waitrose Trophy

The Waitrose Trophy is awarded at the AGM to the Pair with highest percentage score above 70% in a club duplicate session of 8 tables or more in the previous 12 months.

Winners 2019 Roy Hughes & Dennis Mellor with 74.35%

Trophy Presented at the 2019 AGM by Gloria Elwick

Please notify Adrian Underwood if you achieve a contending score.


AGM and Herbert Pairs
Director: Glynn Elwick
Scorer: Mike Llewellyn
Gloria's Mid-week All Comers Pairs
Director: Helen Barr
Scorer: Helen Barr
Mens/Ladies Pairs Championship
Director: Helen Barr
Scorer: Helen Barr
12th Oct 2019
Calendar Test - Not a Real Event
Dunholme 11pm
Director: Glynn
Scorer: Roy