Release 2.19r
Recent Updates
Home Page
20th May 2024 17:57 BST
Wessex League
16th Apr 2024 21:55 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2024
Wessex League
The Wessex League

The 2023-24 Wessex League season has now reached its climax, and has been, as always, an enjoyable set of matches to take part in. Wallingford have 5 teams in the main Evening League, and 2 teams in the Daytime League.

In the Evening League, Wallingford A have been playing in Division 2 this year. Wins against Summertown, Abbey Smith and Oxford D were offset by losses against Banbury and Blewbury, to leave us in 3rd position and remaining in Division 2 for next season. I think a record number of players have been involved in A team matches this year, so thank you to everyone who has played their part this season.

Wallingford B, C and D have all been playing in Division 3, which is always a tightly contested division, but this year has proved especially so. Wallingford C had a topsy turvy season, beginning with two defeats to the other two Wallingford teams but finishing with strong wins against Aylesbury Aces, Abingdon B and Wantage A to finish 2nd in the table and earn promotion to Division 2 for next season. Well done to that team - David Emerson, David Gardner, Andrew Hones, Cliff Hones, Patricia Hones (captain), Martin Neal, Graham Shaw, Lesley Sixsmith, Sean Slater and Sue Waddington.

Out of a total of a possible 100 VPs, Wallingford B, Wallingford D and Aylesbury Aces have been "separated" by only 0.67 VPs - Wallingford D just getting in front of the other two, thanks largely to good wins against Wallingford C and 3rd placed Wantage A and now secure of a place in Division 3 next season, with Aylesbury Aces just behind them and Wallingford B very marginally below and unfortunately relegated to Division 4. Many thanks also to captains Stuart Fox (B) and Peter Dyer (D) for their hard work this season.

The biggest success story of this year's Evening League has been Wallingford E, who ensured a top place finish in Division 4 and promotion to Division 3 for next year. They beat Oxford E, F and G and also Abbey Smith B to win 4 out of 5 matches. Well done to the whole team - Gerry Bacon, Andrew Billson, Perella Bridgland, Richard Crawford, Roger Elliot, Aine Fox, Piers Heyworth, Lesley Hughes, Diane Mitchell, Gillian Moore, Tom Rogerson (captain), Desmond Walsh and Cindy Woods.

In the Daytime League, both Wallingford teams competed in Division 2 this season. Wallingford B had a very good season, beating Summertown B, Oxford Ashmolean and Oxford Bodleian to secure 2nd place and promotion to Division 1. Well done to that team as well, Perella Bridgland (captain), Richard Crawford, Peter Dyer, Lesley Hughes, Diane Mitchell and Anna Wright. Wallingford A had a mixed season, starting with a narrow win against Wallingford B and finishing with a big win against Oxford Ashmolean to ensure they stay in Division 2 for next season.

A huge thank you to everyone who has played for Wallingford in the Wessex League this year, and I very much hope you will all be willing to continue doing so next year.

Edited by David Emerson 16/04/24

Click here for the Wessex League Results on the EBU Website.

Click links at the top of the page for Divisions 1, 2, 3, and 4 and on the dropdown menu where it says "Wessex League 2023-24" for Daytime Divisions 1, 2, and 3.