Release 2.19n
Recent Updates
Online Bridge Ladder
10th Jul 2020 09:06 BST
27th Jun 2020 19:03 BST
Home Page
24th Jun 2020 14:07 BST
Minutes of Meetings (Members only)
8th Jun 2020 08:34 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020

On-Line duplicate pairs

Our on-line duplicate pairs sessions start Monday 6th July.  The county sessions start Wednesday 1st July.

Bridge Ladder

The Bridge ladder started Sunday 10th May.  You can still enter (at the bottom of the ladder!) - please contact Lynn

The full rules are shown on this site under 'Competitions' but please note the following:

  You may challenge a pair up to 3 places above you in the ladder as shown on this site at 9:00 am on Saturday unless you are in the top 4 places when you may challenge a lower pair.

  All challenges must be made between 9:00am on Saturday and 11:59pm on Sunday.

  Challenges must be emailed to both members of the pair challenged and copied to Lynn.

  Challenges will be accepted on a first come first served basis according to the order in which they appear in Lynn's inbox. 


Following the latest goverment advice the Committee has decided to cancel all Monday night bridge sesssions until further notice.

County Individual Final

Congratulations to David & Malcolm who finished 1st and 2nd respectively.

Andrew Robson's articles

A link to Andrew's articles has been added under 'Useful Links'.

County Events

The calendar for 2019-20 can be downloaded from the website

British Winter Sims

Out of 739 pairs nationally, Huntingdon had 3 pairs in the top hundred with Stephen and Michael the highest ranked at no. 19.

Club Championship Teams 2020

Congratulations to Jenny, David, Charles & Yvonne - Club Teams Champions for the second year in a row.



Do you need a partner?   If so, why not use the partner finding service under the 'Membership' menu above.   Or, if you prefer, you can contact Lesley Cole who will help you with this service.

If you are a member of the club and don't yet have access to the members' area, click on the 'Membership'  menu item and then enter your name, email address or EBU Number and click 'Set Password' - follow the instructions to get a link sent to your email address to enable you to create a password.



Huntingdon Bridge Club does not offer bridge classes.  But, if you are interested in learning, then Yvonne Palfrey can help.  Look under 'Information' then 'Lessons'.


Stretford Bridge Club holiday details can be found via the Useful links menu

(Huntingdon Bridge Club will receive 5% commission for advertising these holidays)

Club Pairs Championship, Plate and Porter Trophy

The Club Pairs Trophy - 1977

Purchased by the Club members.

This is awarded annually. Up to 2016-2017 this played on two consecutive Club evenings; the first evening normal match pointed pairs, from which the leading 10 pairs, who attend at the second evening, qualified for a 5 table 'all-play-all' Final.  A Consolation Final was held on the second evening for all players not qualifying for the premier final, irrespective of whether they played on the first evening or not.

From 2017-2018 the second evening is also a normal match pointed pairs event.  The results of the two evenings are combined to give overall winners and runners up from those pairs who have played both evenings.

The Gardiner Plate - 1987

Presented by Mrs Eileen Gardiner on her retirement as Captain of the Club.

This is awarded annually to the runners up for the Club Pairs Trophy.

The Porter Trophy - 1995 

Presented by Ray Porter on his retirement after many years as Tournament Director.

Up to 2016-17 this was awarded annually to the winners of the Club Pairs Consolation Final.  From 2017-2018 this is awarded to the pair finishing highest in the combined results from those with an NGS grade below 50% at the start of the first week who have played both evenings. 


Year Club Champions Gardiner Plate Porter Trophy
2019-20 Malcolm Anderson & Stephen Goodwin Jenny Cant & David Joy Jill Challinor & Anne Theakston
2018-19 Jenny Cant & David Joy Michael Krause & Stephen Goodwin Yvonne Bradbury-White & Richard Campion
2017-18 Michael Krause & Stephen Goodwin Ian Hill & David Williams Jill & Martin Pincott
2016-17 Malcolm Anderson & Stephen Goodwin Gill Davies & Charles King Jill Challinor & Anne Theakston
2015-16 Roger Farrington & Graham Dubock Barbara Talboys & Derek Oxbrow Barry Ransley & Ken Firth
2014-15 Ken Firth & Michael Krause Gill Davies & Derek Oxbrow Carol Ombler & Linda Ledwidge
2013-14 Pat Cole & Barry Ransley Barbara Talboys & Derek Oxbrow Margaret & Roger Chaplin
2012-13 Ian Hill & David Williams Yvonne Palfrey & Charles King Jill Challinor & Anne Theakston
2011-12 Pauline Baily & Roger Millington Jill Challinor & Anne ThPeakston Eddie Humphrey & Michael Krause
2010-11 Ken Firth & Roger Millington Jill Challinor & Anne Theakston Damian Reed & Chris Murray
2009-10 Stephen Goodwin & Jonathan Taylor Charles King & Bill Stevenson John Lambden & Michael Krause
2008-09   Linda Ledwidge & Carol Ombler Pauline Baily & Michael Krause
2007-08   Mike Neverton & Bill Stevenson Alex Green & Iain Watson
2006-07   Bill Stevenson & Andrew Dutton Guido Paoluzi & Roger Millington
2005-06   Yvonne Palfrey & Charles King Jill Challinor & Ann Theakston
2004-05   Ian Hill & David Williams Pat Cole & H Jenkins
2003-04   Mrs Haddock & Derek Oxbrow Pat Cole & H Jenkins
2002-03   Joyce Day & Mr Harvey Barry Ransley& Malcolm Howarth
2001-02   Yvonne Palfrey & Charles King  
2000-01   Ann Pillinger & Peter Mohan  
1999-2000   Hazel Jenkins & Pat Cole  
1998-99   Veronica Brown & Mrs Laycock  
1997-98   Mr Leeming & Mr Setchell  
1996-97   Gill Davies & Ann Hamilton  
1995-96   Gill Davies & Ann Hamilton  
1994-95   Charlotte & Michael Fellows  
1993-94   Margaret & Roger Chaplin  
1992-93   Margaret & Roger Chaplin  
1991-92   Janet & Ray Porter  
1990-91   Mr Curr & Len Scofield  
1989-90   B Humphries & George Ledwidge  
1988-89   Audrey Stenner & Alex Green  
1987-88   Margaret & Roger Chaplin  
1986-87   Eileen Gardiner & Mr Hunter