Hemel Hempstead Bridge Club
Release 2.19n
Recent Updates
Home Page
16th Aug 2020 14:53 BST
Winner 2019/20
26th Jun 2020 14:40 BST
22nd Jun 2020 15:49 BST
Chairman Report 2019/20
22nd Jun 2020 15:46 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020

Chairman Report 2019/2020

Now available on LHS AGM  tab




Chairmans Report 2017/18

Hemel Hempstead Bridge Club

Chairman’s AGM Report 2017-18


During the past year we have only been running Duplicate Bridge on Monday evenings as due to the low turn out, we ceased running Bridge on Tuesdays in December 2017.  We have used duplimated boards and I would like to thank David Blasebalk for running the duplimating machine.  We also introduced automatic scoring using the Bridgetab system and my thanks go to Cliff & Anne Short for their great work in getting this system up and running for the club.


 We continue to run Supervised Play sessions on Thursday afternoons and numbers have increased thanks to the hard work of the supervisors: Roger Edmonds, Anne & Cliff Short, Lesley & Derek Peers, Pat Henry, George Summers, Naomi Gibbs and myself.


We ran our open Swiss Pairs event on Sunday 25th February.  It again proved successful with increased numbers thanks to Roger Edmonds for organising the event.


The Christmas party had to be postponed due to bad weather and was held on 4th January, where we had the same number of tables as orginally planned for the 11th December.  Very many thanks go to Lesley Peers and Anne Short for re-organising the event at short notice.  They both put in a tremendous amount of hard work to make the event such a success.


It is with much sadness that June Ball passed away after a long fight against Cancer.  She had been a lovely member of our club for many years.


Members from the Club in all categories won major HBA competitions viz:

Our team (Debbie West, Stuart Tarrant, Peter McRobert & Tom Hume) won the HBA cadet teams.

Alan Woof & Oliver Tiemann won HBA Championship pairs with Roger Edmonds & David Stimson coming second.

Naomi Gibbs & Mike Rawlins were in a team that won the HBA league.


We are planning a few changes to our competitions.  Pricipally the Byron cup (teams) will revert to having a pre-qualifier followed by a knock out for the top four teams.  The Teams can include non-members of the club. The pre-qualifier will also have a trophy for the best team where no player  is higher than a 10 on the ngs system.  This will give all members at the club the opportunity of winning a teams trophy.  


Finally a big thank you to all those who have served on the Committee;  Cliff ShortMargaret Ainsworth,  Lesley and Derek Peers, Pat Henry,  David Blasebalk, Roger Edmonds, and Naomi Gibbs.

A big thank you to Cliff who is relinguishing the role of Treasurer after many successful years


I would like to thank all our Directors and Scorers;  Roger Edmonds for the web site;  Anne Short as our membership secretary. The Club couldn’t function without their help.

Finally I would also like to thank  Derek Gowlett along with Patrick McIntyre for organising Tuesday evening’s bridge for many years.  Now they can enjoy a rest from organising and it’s nice to see them  on Monday evenings.  


David Stimson