Hemel Hempstead Bridge Club
Release 2.19n
Recent Updates
Winner 2019/20
10th Feb 2020 08:53 GMT
Home Page
5th Feb 2020 19:54 GMT
23rd Jan 2020 09:33 GMT
Useful Links
20th Sep 2019 18:18 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020


Hemel Hempstead Swiss Pairs

Sunday 23rd February 1-30 pm

Entry Form on LHS tab




AGM Minutes 2011



Minutes of 52nd AGM on Thursday 23 June 2011


1            Attendance     29 members


2            Apologies for absence    Susie Bond, Pat Henry, Sita Piggott, Cynthia Wheatley, Gill Fisher, Tom Banks, Jean Wilding, Joy and Eddie Goddard, John Wareham, Colin Sanders, Lys Irvine, Clive Walters, Jane and Ian Osborne, Sue Fleming,  Rachel Barlow, Diane Saville, Margaret and David Goodwin and Brian Smith


3            Minutes of last meeting     Copies were distributed at the meeting and these were accepted as a true record. Proposed Terry Neal and seconded by Jean Walters.


4          Matters arising    

David Stimson reported that following the concerns of Tuesday players that more good hands were going to N/S. Cliff Short had carried out an extensive study of the Tuesday Duplimated hands and found they were equally distributed.  The results of this had been presented to Tuesday players who had accepted the results.

Ian Grant had raised a concern that Directors were too focused on playing 24 boards.  David explained that the club had adopted a new policy regarding speed of play and what happens if players fall behind.  This has been posted on the club notice board


5            Chairmanís Report   

David Stimson reported that club membership numbers has remained constant but the average weekly number of tables is half a table down on four years ago.


The Club remains affiliated to the EBU and its Pay To Play membership scheme which now costs 39p per player per night, of which 8p goes to the Herts Bridge Association. There will be no increase in fees for table money and annual subscription for the forthcoming year.

Standards continue to improve and the club had nine members representing the county. The Shorts team won the Senior teams event at Eastbourne, Paul & Fiona Littlewood reached the national pairs final and the Marjorie Lukyn competition was won by David Stimson and Roger Edmonds


We had bought 15 new tables to replace the old green tables.


The clubís Xmas party had been catered internally with Pat Henry, Susie Band and committee members providing the food.  There had been favourable comments on the quality of the food and the ticket price had been held at £9. The party had clashed with a number of other events so for 2011 we would return to holding it on the first Thursday in December.


Jean Walters, Derek Peers and John Pelley had resigned from the committee and David thanked them all for their contribution, particularly Jean who had spent 25 years as club secretary.


All the committee members, directors, night organisers and scorers were thanked for their hard work, with a special mention of David Blasebalk for preparing Duplimate boards, Lys Irvine for the catering, Derek Gowlett for organising Tuesday bridge. and Roger Edmonds for running the website.


Terry Neal, the clubís longest serving member, who had served on the committee and held senior officer positions for many years was made an honorary member in recognition of his many years of dedicated service.


6            Treasurerís Report    

Cliff Short explained that he had taken over from Derek Peers towards the end of the financial year and Derek had left the accounts in good shape. We had increased table money last year on the introduction of Pay to Play and as a result we were able to spend money on Director training, £758 on new tables and still make a small profit . Table money is likely to stay the same for several years but expenditure on equipment and Director training should be greatly reduced next year so we should make a reasonable profit in the forthcoming year..


The accounts had not yet been audited but were accepted by the meeting subject to audit. Proposed by Roger Edmonds and seconded by Julie Snell.


Any Other Business. None was raised



Election of Officers and Committee


Chairman: David Stimson. Proposed and carried unanimously.


Treasurer: Cliff Short. Proposed and carried unanimously.


Other committee members who had agreed to serve for 2011 / 2012 were David Blasebalk, Pat Jacobs, Fiona Littlewood, Susie Bond and Paula Morton.  New members were Helen Robinson and Tim Cooper. They were proposed in bulk and carried unanimously.


Terry Neal thanked the chairman for all his hard work and this was unanimously applauded.



Presentation of prizes by Terry Neal


TUESDAY TROPHY                                   Tess Alexander & Tony Shields


CHAIRMANíS CUP                             Fiona & Paul Littlewood


SMITH CUP                                           Lys Irvine & Murtaza Panju


HOBSON BOWL                          Pat Hobson & Tom Banks, Pat Hogger & John Jackson


FELDENWOOD TROPHY                       Margaret & Bob Ainsworth


SUTCLIFFE PLATE                          Fona & Paul Littlewood, Roger Edmonds & David Stimson


TUESDAY BOWL                          Margaret & David Goodwin


BYRON CUP                                         Lesley & Derek Peers, Helen Robinson & Roger Edmonds


HUDSON SALVER                                   Carole Morley & John Pelley


TONY WEATHERLEY(Monday Ladder)            John Wareham


TUESDAY TANKARD(Tuesday Ladder)            Derek Gowlett


WENDY COTTON (Thursday Ladder) Helen Robinson


NEAL VASE                                          Cliff Short


HEMMINGS INDIVIDUAL                   Jackie Davies


JANET FITZGERALD TROPHY                       Ann & Cliff Short