Spade  Club
Release 2.19n
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2021

The webmaster is Sue Ingham.

If you have any suggestions or material for the website please contact Sue on

Non-EWBA Events

Gloucestershire & Herefordshire Swiss Pairs/Teams 

Saturday/Sunday 24/25 July

Click here for further details.

Dorset Swiss Pairs 

Sunday 1st August

Click here for further details.

EWBA Committee Meeting
EWBA Committee Meeting
WBU Newsletter




Welcome to East Wales Bridge Association
EWBA League and Knock-out 2021
EWBA League and Knock-out 2021

The East Wales Leagues and Knock-out competition are run by Adrian Trickey, 
tel: 01446 793779 
The 2021 League is being played online. There are three divisions, each comprised of six teams. Team names are as follows:
Division 1 Division 2 Division 3

One Off In a Laydown 

Royal Bulawayo

Cardiff All Stars

Penarth Menagerie

Ace of Clubs

The Outsiders

Archway (Chepstow)

Brecon Bees

Chepstow Archers

Rhiwbina Diamonds

Newport Dragons

The Allsorts

Rhiwbina Ruffnecks

A Bridge Too Far

Chepstow Chancers

Lisvane Lemmings

Bees Buddies



For current league standings, click on this link.  Last updated: 16th July 2021

For 2020 league results, see Menu on the left. 

For a copy of the League rules, click here.


East Wales Knock-out Cup 

To see the draw and the results of matches played to date click here.

Western League

The Western League co-ordinator is Richard Welsford (, who also runs the C Team.

The A Team is selected by Mike Best (

The B Team is selected by Jason He (

The 2021 Western League has been completed. 

Click here to view 2021 results

For final league tables click on the links below

A Division

B Division

C Division


2021/22 Season

Next season, beginning in October, the Western League will revert to head to head matches, playing each county in turn. Early matches will be played on the Real Bridge platform, but there is a possibility that we may revert to face to face play later in the season. Matches will comprise A, B and C games, each of 24 boards. Teams of 8 may be a possibility for some matches, but the default will be teams of 4.


These are the dates (all Saturdays, with an assumed 2pm start):

2nd October v Avon

27th November v Cornwall

11th December v Wiltshire

15th January v Devon

12th February v Herefordshire

12th March v Dorset

2nd April v Somerset


Please inform team captains (email addresses above) of your availability. 




WBU News

Welsh Bridge Union News




Click here to read or download the April issue of the WBU Newsletter, edited by Laura Woodruff. 

Previous issues can be found at the foot of the Menu column on the left.

Arthur James Bowl and Beatus Cup

Congratulations to Chris Rochelle and Simon Gottschalk, winners of the Arthur James Bowl held in conjunction with the East Wales AGM. Beatus Cup winners were Bill Parkinson and Guy Thomas

East Wales Restricted Teams 2021

Congratulations to Tony Campbell, Justin Cooper, Simon Brindle and Rod Hudson, winners of the East Wales Restricted Teams. 

East Wales Congress Swiss Teams 2021

Congratulations to Helen Erichsen, Fiona Brown, Alan Cooke and Ollie Burgess, winners of the online Swiss Teams in a field of 40 teams. 

East Wales Congress Swiss Pairs 2021

Congratulations to Alan and Jette Bailey, winners of the online Swiss Pairs from an impressive field of 74 pairs. 

Arthur James Bowl & Beatus Cup
EWBA Restricted Teams
#35481 EWBA February Congress - Swiss Teams
EWBA February Congress - Swiss Pairs
Sun 5th Sep 2021
Stan Berger Open Pairs
Sun 26th Sep 2021
Patrick Jourdain Open Teams
Sun 5th Dec 2021
EWBA Mixed Pairs