Release 2.19q
Club Championship

Some of the interactive elements on this page are best viewed on a laptop or desktop

Rules for the Club Championship Trophy

The Club Championship is an annual competition based on partnership scores in the club duplicate sessions on the fourth Friday of each month.  Each partnership's best six scores in the competition year are added together and the trophy is awarded to the pair with the highest aggregate total. Only pairs where both partners are club members are eligible.


  • Annual competition for a partnership winner in our duplicate pairs sessions on the fourth Friday of each month.
  • Our competition year now runs from the beginning of July until the end of the following June (prior to 2012 from September to August)
  • Based on cumulative percentage scores using each partnership's best six percentage scores. 
  • Only scores achieved with players who are club members are eligible. (We will, at our discretion, re-instate scores achieved with non-members who subsequently become members during the competition year)

Under normal circumstances there should be 12 qualifying sessions, one on the fourth Friday of every month but circumstances may cause one or more sessions to be cancelled.  In the event that more than one session is cancelled the number of qualifying scores will be reduced as considered appropriate. For the 2019/2020 competition year the COVID-19 Pandemic caused the cancellation of four qualifying sessions and a further session was lost during the Christmas break so the award was made on the basis of the best four scores rather than the best six.
Former winners of the Club Championship Trophy
Year Winners
2020 Robert Smith & Tony Pearson
2019 Robert Smith & Tony Pearson
2018 Gill Jones & Robbie Roberts
2017 Robert Smith & Tony Pearson
2016 Robert Smith & Tony Pearson
2015 Robert Smith & Tony Pearson
2014 Margaret Ainscough & Sue Fjortoft
2013 David Burrows & Tony Pearson
2012 David Burrows & Tony Pearson
2011 Gareth Thomas & Peter Papworth
2010 Sue Fjortoft & Ray Parkinson
2009 Sue Fjortoft & Ray Parkinson
2008 Gareth Thomas & Peter Papworth
2007 Sue Fjortoft & Ray Parkinson
2006 Charles Crossland & David Edwards
2005 Sue Fjortoft & Ray Parkinson
2004 Ray Parkinson & George Whallley
2003 Ray Parkinson & George Whallley
2002 Ray Parkinson & Ron Higgins
2001 Margaret Gilbertson & John Bell
2000 Gareth Thomas & Peter Papworth
1999 David Edwards & Jon Fjortoft
1998 Sue Fjortoft & Patty Hearne
1997 Ray Parkinson & Peter Lloyd
1996 Yetta Mendick & Dr Manuel Mendick
1995 David Edwards & Jon Fjortoft
1994 David Edwards & Jon Fjortoft
1993 Ray Parkinson & John Bell
1992 Ray Parkinson & John Bell
1991 David Edwards & Jon Fjortoft
1990 Ray Parkinson & John Bell
1989 Dr Manuel Mendick & Dorothy Beach
1988 Margaret Gilbertson & Sue Fjortoft
1987 Ray Parkinson & A Main
1986 Margaret Gilbertson & Sue Fjortoft
1985 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1984 J. Sumner & Y. Walker
1983 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1982 L. Brooks & E. Caldwell
1981 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1980 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1979 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1978 Dr Manuel Mendick & M. Falk
1977 L.A. Webster & E.M. Webster
1976 L. Brooks & J. Wilcox
1975 R. Pearson & D. Pearson
1974 J.A. Bartholomew & Dr Manuel Mendick
1973 M. Bartholomew & H. Pyrah
1972 M. Bartholomew & H. Pyrah
1971 J.A. Bartholomew & Dr Manuel Mendick