Blackrock College Bridge Club
Release 2.19o
Recent Updates
Home Page
19th Oct 2021 15:12 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2021
 Dorothy Collins,
Vice President
Joan Valkenburg,
Hon. Secretary:
 Fionnuala Duddy,
Hon. Treasurer:
Philip O’Dwyer,
Hon. Membership Sec: 
Oliver Rye,
Hon. Tournament Director:
Janet O'Huiginn. 
Committee Members:
Ciaran O'Huiginn, 
Ursula O'Connell, 
Vera McCague, 
George Kavanagh, 
Yvonne Sheerin. 
Chris Davenport 
Welcome to Blackrock College Bridge Club

Duais An Uachtarain – 30 October, Kingsley Hotel Cork

by  | Oct 14, 2021 | Uncategorized

The Duais an Uachtarain, which was postponed in September, will now be held on Saturday 30 October, in the Kingsley Hotel in Cork (please note the change of venue – not UCC as had been advised at one point).

The competition, which is open to Master and Intermediate A grades, will be over two sessions, starting at noon, and will finish at a time that means an overnight stay will not be required unless you wish to enjoy one. This will be the CBAI’s first foray back to a live national bridge competition since February 2020, and normal prizes and masterpoints will awarded. The table money will be €25, and pre-entry is required using the online entry system. Our new President Pat O’Mahony has been waiting for well over a year to welcome you to Cork, and we would encourage all members to support him in this competition. It will also represent a chance to meet up with your bridge friends for the first time in quite a while, and, for many players, a first opportunity to hold the cards in your hand again after what has seemed an endless wait.

Diarmuid Reddan will be the Tournament Director, and will keep us on track of all the rules we have forgotten while playing exclusively online. We are awaiting the revised government public health guidance before making a final decision on some of the health protocols, but it is our intention that protective perspex table screens will be in use.



BCBC Annual Golf Outing.

We had a great day on Saturday for the golf outing at Foxrock golf club. 27 took part in the afternoon and the weather was very kind to us apart from one short shower. The course was in fantastic condition with very fast greens catching many players out. In the evening 36 members met for dinner in the clubhouse. Everyone was delighted to see one another after so long. We had a lovely meal and a memorable night.  Here is a list of the prize winners.

Ladies 9 Hole Competition: Joint winners    Deirdre Paffrath, Joyce Maguire

Ladies  18 Hole Competition:

Winner Mary Halpenny 33 points, Runner up Brid Bunbury  29 Points

Mens 9 hole Competition Winner Dominic Broughan,    Runner Up Roy Ball

Mens 18 Hole Competition Winner Ciaran O Huiginn 36 points,      Runner Up  Ken Halpenny 33 points



 MEMBERSHIP RENEWALS : deferred until early November




In my new role as Membership Secretary I am delighted my first task is to announce that the following have all been promoted a grade - particularly delighted to see all the new Masters we have in the club. Please join with me in congratulating everyone.



Maura Byrne,   Aine Doyle,   Margaret Houlihan,  Mary Murray,   Don O’Donovon


Declan Doyle ,   Liz Hurley ,   Katherine Verso 


Alexandra Blair,  David Blair,  Moyra Kinlay,  Ciaran O’Huiginn,  Janet O’Huiginn 


Chris Davenport,  George Kavanagh,  Cora Ryan,  Moya Walsh 


Contact us

New Member Applicants 2021-2022

Applicant              Proposer 1          Proposer 2

 Aislinn Doody       Helen Waters        Cora Ryan

1st November 2021
IBU Simultaneous Pairs Week
#76216 Pairs BCBC Bar Area
Scorer: Carol-Ann Cummins
#76207 Pairs BCBC Window Area
Scorer: Carol-Ann Cummins
#64173 Pairs BCBC Monday Night Window Side
Scorer: Luca Crone

All Competitions require pre-entry and commence at 7.15 pm. Sharp.

Members are responsible for putting their names on the competition list and MUST notify theTournament Director if unable to play in any pre-entry competition.


To be eligible to win a prize in a major Competition members must have played on 4 club nights prior to that event, during the current club year


Interesting facts

The origin of playing cards: 

The origin of playing cards was in China and dates back to around the year 1120.  

Originally, cards were used for fortune telling and gambling. 
Cards were introduced into Italy and Spain around 1370, probably coming from Egypt. 
Tarot cards, used for fortune telling, were introduced in Italy in 1440.

The origin of Bridge: 

The origin of Bridge can be traced back to a card game 1st played in the 16th century, what was the name of that game? 

= "Whist" - The 1st entirely devoted to Whist was written by Edmund Hoyle in 1742