Ballyroan Bridge Club
Release 2.19p
Recent Updates
Home Page
14th Jan 2022 19:10 GMT
News Page
2nd Nov 2021 12:11 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2022
Competition Rules

Rules for Major Competition entry are available in the Information link

Welcome to Ballyroan Bridge Club


Club Competition

Pairs Competition 

Ballyroan will be holding a pairs competition on BBO over 2 nights - January 25th and February 1st. There will be three separate sections - Relaxed, Intermediate and Top.

Please ensure you and your partner are available for both weeks in order for us to be able to plan out the full competition. 

Registration will be on BBO as normal on the night of January 25th.


Regional Teams Qualifiers 2022
Regional Teams Qualifiers 2022
Returning to Live Bridge

Return to Live Bridge

Unfortunately, Ballyroan has decided to postpone reopening for now. With the rising cases and the reluctance for members to return, it makes more sense to prioritise safety and continue to review the situation on a regular basis. Our commitment is to return to live bridge under the correct conditions. 

We still urge members to forward their covid certs in preparation for reopening. BBO will continue as before.

Anyone who wishes to play in the Bridge Centre must be fully vaccinated. To avoid delays we are asking members who wish to play in the Bridge Centre to send their Covid Certificate in advance of playing in the centre. Your certificate will not be kept on our system, it will simply be recorded as being received and then it will be deleted.

To send on your Covid certificate please email the following to

  • Your Name/Partner's Name
  • Your Covid Certificate - partner can email separately

If you have any issues emailing your details then reach out to a member of the committee and we will assist you.

Please take a moment to read the rules for returning to bridge in the centre

Ballyroan Online

Ballyroan will be hosting online competitions on Bridge Base Online (BBO).  The competitions will take place at 7.20 sharp.  Please note the start time!  Latecomers cannot be accommodated.  Below I have listed exactly how you will find and register to play in the tournaments.  You will need to have registered on the BBO site already.  When you register on the BBO site, you will be asked to pick a nickname or username that you will use in competitions.  You will also need to purchase BBO$s using either your credit card or PayPal.  It will cost you 3$ to play in a competition and that money will be deducted from your purse when you register for the competition.  You will need to let us know your details by emailing and giving your bbo username, mobile and email address.  These details are needed by the TD for the smooth running of the competitions.

The tournament will be listed on the BBO site when you login under Virtual Club-Other clubs-other countries. It will only be visible 1.5 hours before start time so from 6.00 on Tuesday The host will be CBAI125519. The tournaments will be called Ballyroan Competitive and Ballyroan Relaxed.  The relaxed competition will be a game aimed at Beginners, and B/Novice players. You can also search for Ballyroan in the search box beside running/pending/complete, that will find it quicker.

Only one of the pair playing needs to register so decide among yourselves who that is. Both of you need to be logged in though at the time you are registering!  Click on the tournament. On the Partner section, enter the BBO name of your partner (you can pay for them if you wish, just tick that box) and click Invite. Your partner must be logged in as well, they will get your invitation, they click Accept. Then you’re both registered! If they aren’t online, you might need to text them to login.

Then you do nothing. At 7.20, the cards will just appear and you will be at a table with your partner and 2 others. NB: You must be logged in at start time, even if you have registered earlier. BBO automatically logs you out if you aren’t active on the site so make sure you login again at 7.10

When you are playing there will be a time limit for each round (7 minutes for each board, 8 in the "relaxed" competition).  The bidding and play must be completed within the time limit. Hands not completed are averaged.   Keep an eye on the clock!  This is to make sure everyone is ready to move at the same time.  BBO is easy to use but I recommend playing a few practice hands between now and Tuesday if you are not very familiar with it. 

We want this to be a pleasant game and the priority will be to support people to enjoy their evening's bridge.  Our competition will be friendly and relaxed.  There well may be hiccups as this is our first online competition.  If things go awry the TD may need to restart the competition.  If you get accidentally logged out due to a drop in your wifi or whatever, just log back in again.  The TD has your email addresses and mobile numbers and for individual problems she may contact you directly.

The Ballyroan Bridge Club
The Ballyroan Bridge Club

The Ballyroan Bridge Club meet every Tuesday at 19.30 for Duplicate Bridge at the Templeogue Bridge Centre. Visitors welcome with a member except on major competition nights. Please sign the Visitors' Book

#66574 Pairs Ballyroan Relaxed Section
#66568 Pairs Ballyroan Top Section
#66575 Pairs Ballyroan Intermediate Section
#24185 Pairs Ballyroan Relaxed Section
#24184 Pairs Ballyroan Intermediate Section
#24183 Pairs Ballyroan Top Section