Austenwood Bridge Club
Release 2.19p
Recent Updates
Home Page
9th Sep 2021 10:57 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2021
Welcome to Austenwood Bridge Club
Open in September

The club will be open throughout September on every Monday

Virtual Club!

We are running online sessions on a Wednesday evening at 7pm. It is being hosted by one of our Directors, Keith Jones. If you would like to play please contact him with your BBO user name and EBU number. His email address is The sessions are being shared with Chalfont.

Results can be found at

The Club
The Club

The club, which meets in the Tony Graham Room at the Community Centre in Chalfont St Peter, normally has pairs events each Monday except for the SECOND Monday, in the month when a multiple teams event is held. Please visit the calendar page for any exceptions and details of the Club's special competitions.  Visitors are welcome and your first visit is free. If you would like to come but need a partner please phone Dory Thompson on 01494 433841. The table money is £2.00  per session for members and £3.00  for visitors.

The hands are pre-dealt and hand copies are provided, showing makeable contracts. The results are normally available at the Club at the end of play and on this site soon after.


NEW NUMBER! To ensure we are able to start play not later than 7.30 pm players are asked to be seated by 7.20 pm. If you are delayed please phone 07805 201 265 or 07999 935 859 before 7.20 pm to ensure to be included. Any pair arriving after 7.20 pm without having phoned will be included only if the director is able to do so without disturbing the movement.

Neil Drapkin

We are very sorry to announce the death of Neil Drapkin - such a true gentleman, a great supporter of Austenwood and a regular in our LO8 teams over many years. He will be very much missed. Our condolences to his wife Cynthia and his family. His son Jonathan wrote 'I am sure you know that he thoroughly enjoyed his bridge, and we would like to thank you for the many happy hours he spent at your club over the years. Happily he was able to play on Wednesday evenings until nearly three weeks ago.'

Update: The funeral is on Friday morning 20th August at 11.30 am and can be watched on Username:heko8425 and Password: 327077. Shiva prayers will be on the same day at 4pm on Zoom Meeting ID:868-6412-7427 and the invitation from the synagogue says 'to have a glass to raise to Neil at the ready.'.

BBCBA Online League of 8 2020/21

Congratulations to Austenwood A, captained by Richard Donnelly, who are in first place in Division 2 with an average of 15.0/20,having won 4 out of 5 matches. Their last 2 matches are on Mar 10 and 29, fingers crossed!

By contrast our B team in Division 3, despite winning 2 matches, drawing 1 and losing 3 is in bottom place. Their average is 8.33/20, which normally would be good enough to be 5th or 6th out of the 8 teams, so hopefully the results of other team's matches will move us off the bottom! They have 1 match to play, on Feb 23rd.

Ed Scerri

Ed Scerri is currently (11th November 2020) 4th in the national NGS rankings ahead of such lesser lights as Andrew Robson and Tony Forrester!

John Whittenbury

We regret to announce the death of John Whittenbury on 28th August after a long battle with cancer.

John was one of the few Honorary Members of Austenwood, a status awarded to those who had moved away from the area after giving valuable service to the club over many years. John, in partnership with Ian Macartney, was a stalwart of our A team in the League of 8, including a spell as captain, and a regular director on club nights - 'if you are not on your 3rd board you should be' being his memorable clarion call! Our sympathies are with his widow, Hilary, and his family.

Vernon Cripps

We are sad to announce the passing of Vernon Cripps, a very long time member of the club, who died peacefully on Thursday 16th July after a long illness. The cremation will be a private event on Tuesday 28th July. A page for memories of Vernon has been opened on . Our thoughts are with Joyce and his family, who would welcome memories of Vernon.


Those of us who want to continue to play bridge will have to do so on their computer. Some club members (for example Ed Scerri) are members of BridgeClubLive which has a main DIDO (Drop in Drop out) tournament room which provides a fully automated movement to any partnership with a minimum commitment to 4 boards at each sitting, and a minimum of 16 boards during a day to be listed on the Leader Board - all boards played can be replayed at any time and compared with all others who have played the same board. We have registered Austenwood as a club, which I understand means you can see other members results as well as your own in the form of a Ladder. Full membership is £72 pa, but you can play initially for free as a guest.

Anders Wallen

It is with great sadness that we announce that Anders Wallen, our Chief Director, an inspiring captain of our LO8 A team for many years, and really good friend to many of us, passed away peacefully on 5th March. Our thoughts are with his wife, Eva, and their family. 


Mixed Pairs Trophy & The Flitch 2019

Monday 21st October 2019 there was a competition for the Mixed Pairs Trophy and The Flitch, (Married Pairs) in the normal Pairs session. The winners of the Brenda Bolton Cup, (Mixed Pairs), was won by Tony & Amanda Hawthorn and the Flitch by Judy & David Cadwallader. Well done all four.

As a matter of fact, Graham Lynch and Chris Moir was the non-same-sex pair with the highest score, but the trophies can only be won by club members. So, well done all six!

Butler Scoring Trophy 2019
Butler Scoring Trophy 2019

The annual Butler Scored Pair with a trophy to win, was played Monday 5th August 2019. The oustanding winners with a cracking score of +65 were Richard Cranston and Charles Colton. Very very well done!

The trophy is presented by the chairwoman Diana Longshaw.

Charles is to the left and Richard on the right. (Diana is the one in the middle.)

Austenwood have a new Chair(wo)man

After 16 successful years as Chairman of Austenwood BC, involving a lot of hard work, Nigel Thompson, and Dory, retired at the AGM. Nigel was thanked for his committment by being elected as President of the club.

The club has got its first Chairwoman. Thanks for taking the task on board Diana Longshaw! We are all happy to support you.

All the other committee members were re-elected.

Number One!

Our Chairman, Nigel Thompson, was the very worthy winner of the Individual Club Championship played 18th March 2019. He scored an excellent 70%, thereby outclassing all other 12 members who took part. Very well played. Congratulations Nigel!

Director: Tim
Scorer: Tim
Director: Tim
Scorer: Tim
Director: David
Scorer: David Cadwallader
Scorer: Tim Lawrence
Scorer: Tim Lawrence
Scorer: Tim Lawrence
Monday Teams
Director: Tim Lawrence
Scorer: Anders Wallen
Director: Richard
Scorer: Tim
Pairs Championship Heat - Waller Bowl Heat
Director: Keith
Scorer: Keith
Director: David
Scorer: David
27th Sep 2021
Director: Nigel