Release 2.19q
Recent Updates
Home Page
1st Dec 2023 18:07 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2023
Anyone wishing to discuss playing bridge at the Athenaeum should contact John Neilson at 
Regular Athenaeum duplicate bridge on Tuesday evenings continue. Dinner (optional) is at 6.30pm and play starts promptly at 7.15pm.   

2022/23 Club Matches

Devonshire Cup 2024

Having reached the semi-final in 2023,  losing to the eventual winners, the Athenaeum team hopes to go at least one better when this popular duplicate rubber bridge competition resumes in February 2024. 


Athenaeum vs Royal Automobile Club

The Club's first match of 2023 was a close run affair.  Playing away to the RAC, the Athenaeum team was a few IMPs down at half-time.  However we coped better with the excellent dinner than did our hosts, and eventually ran out winners by 19 IMPs.  The team was John Neilson & Nita Wheeler, Geoff Lloyd & James Cooper, Andrew Harris & Charles King Farlow, and Pascal Ricketts & Paul Thornton


Athenaeum vs MCC

The Athenaeum  hosted a formidable  MCC team on 22 November 2023 with the result being even closer than last year's 3 IMP victory. The Athenaeum held a comfortable lead before dinner but the MCC recovered strongly during the second half. However the Athenaeum team just held on to emerge winners by 1 IMP.  Our team was John Neilson & Nita Wheeler, Paul Thornton & Pascal Ricketts, Catherine Rice-Evans & Rex Goad, Mary Baker & Geoffrey Lloyd.

Athenaeum vs. House of Lords

The first match between the Athenaeum and the House of Lords for two years was hosted by the House of Lords on Wednesday 23rd March.  In a match played over 24 boards, the score was close at the half-way point however the House of Lords team went on to a strong victory by around 60 IMPs.  
The Athenaeum team was John Neilson & Donald Singer, Hazelanne Lewis and Ellie Ferguson, Charles King-Farlow & Michael Oppenheimer and Geoff Lloyd & Pascal Ricketts.
Representing the House of Lords were James Cooper (also of the Athenaeum) & Tessa Blackstone, Malcolm Caithness and Archie Hamilton, Ruth Henig & Willie Coyle and Susie Allfrey & Richard Cumming-Bruce.

Welcome to Bridge at The Athenaeum
Inter-Club Duplicate at the Athenaeum
Inter-Club Duplicate at the Athenaeum

This is the website for inter-club duplicate tournaments, held with a 6.35pm prompt start on the 3rd Tuesday of most months at the Athenaeum Club in London's Pall Mall.  The Athenaeum is a private members' club. Dinner is held at around 8.30pm, shortly after the mid-point for the evening's hands.

Thank you to Athenaeum players and members of our kindred clubs and their partners who have already rejoined us at our inter-club sessions at the Athenaeum.

Members of a St James's or other kindred club wishing to play in these sessions should contact Christina Hemmett at 

The dates for future inter-club sessions in early 2024 are: 16th January, 20th February and 19th March

Players are requested not to invite professionals as partners.

The Sir Basil Hall Challenge Trophy is awarded to the player with the highest average percentage score over their best five appearances during the season, not more than three of which are with the same partner and subject to a minimum of five appearances. The winner must be a current member of a St James's or kindred club. The Trophy was keenly contested during the 2022-2023 season with Athenaeum members occupying the top three positions. Geoffrey Lloyd won by a small margin from Bill Shanahan with John Neilson in third position. The first three rounds of the 2023-2024 season have been held. The next Interclub event is on 16 January  but on 12 December we are hosting the popular pivot teams event, directed as usual by Paul Thornton.

Director: Victor Lesk and Caroline Bottoms
Scorer: Victor Lesk and Caroline Bottoms
Athenaeum Interclub Duplicate
Director: Gitte
Director: Victor Lesk and Caroline Bottoms
Scorer: Victor Lesk and Caroline Bottoms