Annandale Bridge Club
Release 2.19p
Recent Updates
Home Page
30th Aug 2022 14:50 BST
Competition details
23rd Jun 2022 01:18 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2022
Welcome to Annandale Bridge Club
Coronavirus Update - June 2022

We are very pleased to announce that at our AGM in May it was agreed that we should return to Face to Face bridge at the start of the new season on September 8th. It seems a very long time since we were able to enjoy each other’s company across the bridge table, and no doubt it will all feel rather unfamiliar to begin with, but I’m sure we will all slip comfortably back into it very quickly. We do hope that all our members are happy about this decision, and of course we will have procedures in place to make everything as safe as possible.

During Covid we were very fortunate to be able to play online bridge via the BBO platform and were able to complete most of our tournaments. This wouldn’t have been possible without the huge contribution from Chris Goode, who directed our online tournaments, week after week, for most of the last two years. We are enormously grateful for this, and Chris is due a massive thank-you. On the odd occasions when Chris was unavailable, Joe McLuckie stepped in and we are most appreciative of his contribution too. Thank you to both.

We have also been delighted during the last two years to welcome several players who are new to the club. Many of these players were extremely regular, and we really hope that they will consider joining us properly now. It would be lovely to get to know each other  better.

Welcome to Annandale Bridge Club

Annandale Bridge Club meets every Thursday evening in the small Blyth Hall in Blyth Street, Newport-on-Tay. Access to the small upper hall from the front of the hall (Blyth Street) is by the door up the path to the right side of the building. The disabled entrance to the hall is to the rear in Scott Street.The club meets from the beginning of September until the end of May. Play starts at 7 pm and members should register by 6.50 pm.

The Annandale has a reputation for its friendly atmosphere, and visitors are welcome on any night. However, for individual and team competitions names require to be registered beforehand. Details of these competitions can be found on the Competitions page. Partners are required, but if looking for a partner check the Find a Partner page, or contact the Secretary, Mairi Shiels, on 07879 677120.

Pairs competitions coming up:

Laura Cunningham (1988) Pairs competition held over seven nights September-January. Best four scores count. 

Tanner Trophy (1951)   Pairs competition held over three nights in January-February. All three scores count. 

Easter Pairs Trophy (1982) Annandale Easter Pairs held on one night in March. 

Ina Morton Trophy (2002) Pairs competition held over three nights in April-May. Butler scoring. Best two scores count. 


Just a reminder for BBO games. The route to find the game is 

Log in, Virtual clubs, SBU, Annandale

This is a pay-to-play site so make sure that you have loaded your account with BBO Dollars. On the top RH  of the screen look for symbol "BB$" Click on this and they will take your sterling cash in a flash!

Amendment to Constitution agreed at AGM

The amendment to the Constitution agreed at the AGM added the following words to Section 10:

"The Treasurer may use digital banking procedures with permission of the Management Committee."

2021-22 Prize Winners


For winners 2021-22 click on the Competitions box on left

Education on line

Beginners course online

How many of us have friends who have said "One day I'll learn how to play bridge”? There are many opportunities for you to learn bridge online; some teachers are offering the SBU branded course materials, others are using different resources - but all  are being taught online  in Scotland . Please go to SBU/Education for more information. We are encouraging all our members to pass on the message. 

What better time than 2022 to learn new skills?

Pairs Night
Director: Chris
Scorer: Mairi Shiels
Open Night
Director: Mairi
Scorer: Mairi Shiels
Pairs Night
Director: Sylvia
Scorer: Mairi Shiels
29th Sep 2022
CD Pairs (1)
Director: Shiena
6th Oct 2022
Pairs Night
Director: Lynne
13th Oct 2022
Tanner Shield TEAMS
Director: Mairi