BFI Winter Nationals, 2019
Release 2.19n
History of Winter Nationals

The first Winter Nationals were held in 1959 in Bombay with Ruia Trophy and Holkar Open Pairs.

RUIA Trophy considered as symbol of Bridge supremacy in India, started in 1959 in the memory of Late Shri Ram Niwas Ruia. It is a running trophy given to the Team of Four champions in the Winter National Bridge Championship. The winner and runners-up get an entry to the Indian Selection Trials. Since 2005, the trophy is called RUIA Gold Trophy. Now a days two events for Team of Four are held simultaneously with additional trophy - RUIA Silver Trophy. For list of past winners click here.

HOLKAR (now initiated as SHREE CEMENT) Open Pairs is the most competitive Match Point Pairs event in India played at Winter Nationals held every year from the year 1959 to 2012. In a different format from 2013 it is called SHREE CEMENT MP Gold Pairs. For list of past winners click here.