Release 2.19n
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020
Porthcawl Congress
This is the Western Area's own Congress, and the Co-ordinator, Irene Thomas, does a terrific job in pulling all these Events together for a great Bridge Weekend.There are keenly fought competitions and a  novice event too...something for everyone.
Porthcawl Congress 2011

Another success for Irene Thomas.

The event was organised as efficiently as ever - thanks Irene for all your hard work.

Winners from West Wales:

Championship Teams - Tony Disley and Roger Penton - with Patrick Jourdain and Mike Hirst           

Ladies' Pairs - Mary Moore and Diana Jones

Seagull Cup Mixed Teams - Vida Halford, Glyn Williams, Linda Pinnock and Marjorie Morris.

Click here for full results

Porthcawl Congress 2011
Porthcawl Congress 2010
Yet again the weekend was organised superbly by Irene Thomas.
Thank you Irene.

West Wales winners:

Pat Smith and Val Legg from Mumbles won the Novice Pairs.

Dan McIntosh from Swansea won the Championship Pairs with Tony Ratcliff.

Ian Haston and Peter Milewski from Haverfordwest won the Townsend Cup.

Marion Brooke and Margaret Lane from Mumbles and Swansea won the Seagull Cup with Patrick Jourdain and Mike Vail.

Porthcawl Congress 6th-8th November 2009

2009 was the 58th Congress and was as enjoyable as ever.

Irene Thomas must have been exhausted after all her hard work in pulling the Congress together, but she can certainly chalk up another successful year.

Full Results for the main competitions are below:

Ladies Pairs (the Phyllis Rowe trophy)
Mens Pairs (the Max Powell trophy)
Mixed Pairs
Friday Open Pairs
Championship Pairs Qualifying
Red Dragon Pairs Final
Little Dragon Pairs Final
Consolation Pairs
Seagull Mixed Pivot Teams
Teams Qualifying Green Section
Teams Qualifying Red Section
Teams Qualifying Blue Section
Teams Championship Final
Prince of Wales Consolation Teams
Sker Trophy Teams

While the results for the Novice Event were:

       Pair                                                                          Score %   Point

1        1        Pat Smith & Valerie Legg                       182/270 = 67.41     48

2        9        Eira Jones & Lynne Roberts                   154/270 = 57 04     36

3=      7        Marjorie Ellery & Vivienne Trollope       151/270 = 55.93     18

3=      10      Lyn Holt & Bob Hughes                         151/270 = 55.93     18

5        5        Pat & Richard Pledger                            150/270 = 55.56

6        8        Gwenda Davies & Daphne Jones            146/270 = 54.07

7        3        David and Gillian Hutchinson                   132/270 = 48.89

8        4        Alice Zangouras & Martha Walters         127/270 = 47.04

9        11      Bryn Gough & Alan Grant                      123/270 = 45.56

10      2        Celia Rossiter & Janet Van                     106/270 = 39.26

11      12      Pam & David Jennings                            105/270 = 38.89

12      6        Julia Evans & Chris Impey                       93/270 = 34.44

Porthcawl Congress 7th - 9th Nov.'08
Porthcawl Congress 7th - 9th Nov.'08

Well, there was much wailing, howling, door-banging and lashings at Porthcawl for the Congress—and that was just the weather!!

Well done and thank you    Irene Thomas,  for again organising an excellent weekend – no easy task with so many Competitions.  Our thanks also to Jim Proctor, David Stevenson, Ian Mitchell and Ivor Hodgekinson who, as Directors and scorers contributed so much to the success of the weekend. Our thanks also to Hugh Arnold who Directed for the NO FEAR Event.

This year, Irene has turned in a profit of £500. A tremedous result after more or less just breaking even last year. This is the Western Area's only source of income apart from subscriptions. So 

    Our thanks to all the players who supported this Congress: it’s appreciated.

          Western Area players did well.

   The Ladies Cup was won by  Becky Watkins and Margaret Lane.(see above)

 Becky is one of our Juniors; an excellent result Bexs

Peter and Margaret Lane won the Mixed Pairs  And The Harold Townsend Cup was won by another Swansea Club pair, Val and Steve Kennewell.

The new No Fear Event,  for less experienced players, was a good Competition that all 17 pairs seemed to enjoy. Winners were Joan Boother and Margaret Algar from Mumbles.

The Seagull Cup was won by the team of Irene Thomas and Graham Jones of Bridgend with Sandra Love & Ron Tapp.

The Teams Event on Sunday was won by Patrick Jordain’s E. Wales team. However, the Prince of Wales Consolation Final was won by 

 Peter Milewski, Mike Baker, Ian Haston and Lee Collier. from Haverfordwest.


The full results will be on the WBU website at the end of November.

Meanwhile, other results,On Friday, Russell Day and Ernie Sutton won the Men's Pairs, with Tom Reddy and Liam Sheridan 2nd.

John Dakin & Gulden Kesimoglu won the Open Pairs with Gorden Clarke & Peggy Moss in 2nd place.

On Saturday, The Red Dragon was won by Gerald Tredinnick and Gilly Clench with Patrick Jourdain and Mike Vail 2nd. The Little Dragon was won by Jane Ewington and Robert Morris with Rob Charlesworth and Roger Penton  as runners up.                                                                      

runners up                                                                      

runners up