
Defenders’ Finesse Against Dummy1 
 
When declarer’s LHO leads, dummy has an honor, and third hand — 
declarer’s RHO —holds a higher honor, then RHO should often 
withhold that honor in order to cover dummy’s honor later.  Here are 
some examples.  Suppose declarer is South, LHO is West, and RHO 
is East. 
 

Example 1 
  Qxx 
???3    AJx 
  ??? 
 
Suppose West leads the 3 and dummy plays low.  Should East play 
the Ace or the Jack?  Case 1: South holds the King.  If East plays 
the Ace then NS will win two tricks — the King and Queen.  But if 
East plays the Jack then NS may be able to win only one trick — the 
King.  It depends on where the 9 and 10 are and who leads the suit 
next. Case 2: West holds the King.  If East plays the Ace then NS will 
later win a trick — the Queen.  But if East plays the Jack then NS will 
not win any tricks because EW will win the Ace, the King, and the 
Jack.  In both cases EW do better if East reserves the Ace to later 
cover the Queen. 
 
Essentially, East is finessing against the Queen.  The difference from 
an ordinary finesse is that East can see the Queen in dummy, so 
knows the finesse is going to win. 
 
 
 
What if the layout is 
  Kxx 
???3    AJx 
  ??? 
and dummy plays low?  East’s reasoning should be similar.  If South 
has the Queen, then playing the Ace instead of the Jack gives NS two 
tricks instead of one.  If West has the Queen then playing the Ace 



gives NS one trick instead of none.  In both cases, East does better 
by playing the Jack. 
 
Let’s look at a few more examples. 
 

Example 2 
  AQ4 
J753    KT2 
  986 
 
Suppose West leads the 3 and dummy plays low.  If East finesses 
against the Queen by playing the 10, then EW will win two tricks.  If 
East instead plays the King, then NS will win two tricks. 
 
 

Example 3 
  AT4 
K953    J82 
  Q76 
 
Suppose West and North play the underlined cards.  East can finesse 
against the 10 by playing the 8.  If East takes the finesse, NS can win 
only two tricks.  But if East spurns the finesse and plays the Jack, 
then NS can win three tricks. 
 

Example 4 
  Q73 
J962    AT4 
  K85 
 
When West leads the 2, East can finesse against the Queen by 
playing the 10.  If East takes the finesse, NS will win only one trick.  
But if East spurns the finesse and plays the Ace, then NS will win two 
tricks. 



 
Example 5 

  J43 
T872    K96 
  AQ5 
 
When West leads the 2, East can finesse against the Jack by playing 
the 9.  If East takes the finesse then NS get only two tricks.  But if 
East spurns the finesse and plays the King, then NS will win three 
tricks. 
 
 
All these examples have in common that dummy has an honor and 
doesn’t play it; East has an honor that could be reserved to cover 
dummy’s honor later; and East has a fairly high spot card to play 
instead of playing third hand high.  The fairly high spot card is 
important because without it, South might be able to win the trick with 
an otherwise inconsequential spot card of her own. 
 
A general rule that often works is: If East’s honor is one step above 
dummy’s honor (examples 2,3), then East should finesse an eight or 
better.  But if East’s honor is two steps above dummy’s honor 
(examples 1,4,5), then East should finesse a nine or better. 
 
Even with this rule East may not make the right decision every time.  
But finessing against dummy is one tool of good defenders. 
 
1 This material was adapted from http://rpbridge.net/4k00.htm 
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