The Kelburne Cup (CBAI National Regional T/4 Championship) and

The Western Region

The **Kelburne Cup** was donated by Sarah Bailey, proprietor of Phoenix Laundry and was named after her house on the Howth Road, Clontarf. The inaugural event took place in 1936 and was established as the CBAI Regional Teams Championship with qualification via Regional T/4 events.

Initially it was played as a 'knockout' event, with matches and venues arranged by the respective team captains, until it was allocated a fixed date in the CBAI calendar and played over a weekend.

The original CBAI regional structure (ten regions) expanded to twelve in 1989-90 and then sixteen in 2011 and since then the competition has consisted of three sessions of five rounds involving direct matches with six boards per match.

A notable and unusual feature of this competition, at qualifying stage as well as during the national final, is the requirement that the captain must play at least a quarter of all boards with each teammember.

The performance of the **Western Region** in this event has been quite extraordinary in recent years. The Western Region was without success from 1936 – 1972 when the quartet of **Paul Barrett, Arthur Kavanagh, Sean Glynn, Pat Barry** recorded successive wins in 1972 and 1973.

Another eleven years elapsed before the trophy headed across the Shannon again when the quartet of **Enda Glynn, Gay Keaveney, Paul Scannell, Rory Timlin** emerged as winners in 1984.

As illustrated in the accompanying table, the Western Region, with few variations in makeup of the team apart from 1994 when the Western Region team was represented by **Paddy Walsh, Anna Glynn, Sean Glynn, Maurice Hession**, proceeded to win the **Kelburne Cup** at regular intervals, more so than any other region, during the period 1984 – 2000. In fact the Western Region's winning record amounts to a significant 47% during this seventeen year period.

After a hiatus of several years the Western Region regained this National T/4 title in 2009 and then went on to win the competition again in 2012 and 2014.

In 2019 the Western Region once more regained this tile, bringing the total wins to twelve during the period 1984-2019. i.e. 33.33%.

And if we include the earlier wins in 1972, 1973, the overall success rate over this 48 year period amounts to 29%.

Paul J Scannell

29th April 2019

N.B. Information re the origins of the **Kelburne Cup** and format of the competition in the earlier years is as per **Seamus Dowling's** most informative and highly entertaining history of the CBAI and IBU as detailed in his book '**Thank You Partner'** (The History of Bridge in Ireland').

Kelburne Cup - Western Region Winners					
Year	Rank	Western Region Team			
1972	1st	P. Barrett	P J Barry	S. Glynn	A. Kavanagh
1973	1st	P. Barrett	P J Barry	S. Glynn	A. Kavanagh
1984	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
1986	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
1991	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
1992	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
1994	1st	A Glynn	S Glynn	M Hession	P F Walsk
1996	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	M Hession	R Timlin
1997	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2000	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	E Fitzgerald	R Timlin
2001	Not winners	No detailed results available			
2002	Not winners				
2003	Not winners				
2004	Not winners				
2005	Not winners				
2006	Not winners				
2007	2nd	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2008	No team				
2009	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2010	2nd	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2011	3rd	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2012	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2013	4th	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2014	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2015	4th	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	R Timlin
2016	4th	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	D Walsh
2017	5th	E Glynn	R Timlin	P Scannell	D Walsh
2018	5th	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	D Walsh
2019	1st	E Glynn	G Keaveney	P Scannell	D Walsh

Note that detailed results are not available for the period 1936-2006.

Kelburne Cup 2019 – Winners



(Left to right): Enda Glynn, Paul Scannell, Gay Keaveney, David Walsh

Photo: Sharon Phelan