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Congratulations to Moira and Trevor, almost 7% ahead of the rest of the field headed by 

Erica and Christopher. I was not playing, I guess Moira will not want to play with me again. 

If you think of any number n less than about 25, some famous bridge player is bound to have 

propounded a ‘Rule of  n’ to tell you how to bid in various situations, justified by carefully 

cherry-picked hands.   The rules mentioned below are all genuine, but follow them at your 

own risk. 

Board 2 was twice passed out, twice 

played in 2♠ by South - which should 

make 9 tricks losing a diamond, two hearts 

and a club - and once an over-ambitious 

2NT by South.   Here, after three passes, 

you can justify an opening bid with the 

Rule of 19:  the total of high card points 

together with the number of cards in the 

two longest suits must come to nineteen or 

more.  North’s hand just makes the grade, 

so you open 1♥,  and raise partner’s 1♠ to 

2♠ to share a top. The Rule worked! 

Ah, but there is another rule specifically 

for opening 4th in hand. Rule of 15:  if you 

have less than 12 points 4th in hand, open 

only when high card points + number of spades >=15.   Here 10+4 = 14.  Don’t open.  In this 

case, wrong. 

 

Look at the choice of opening bid by 

North on Board 5.  Two passed,  two 

opened 2♠, one opened 1♠.  Well, the 

hand just meets the Rule of 19 above.  

But if you open 1♠ , your partner can 

hardly stop short of game, and this was 

the only pair to reach the unmakeable 

4♠.  So this time the rule did not work.  

Opposite the weak-two openers, South 

must have applied the Rule of 17: 

opposite a weak 2, add your HCP to 

your number of trumps, you need more 

than 17 to explore game.  Here 14+2 is 

only 16.  So South passes and gets a 

good result.  It worked! 



I’m not sure if any of these rules are any use.  The only one everyone should follow slavishly, 

but often forgotten, is the Rule of 13 – there are 13 cards in each suit. 

 

I was quite surprised by the opening lead chosen on Board 6 by all three Wests who were 

defending against 4♠ by North. They led the ♠9, immediately allowing the declarer to avoid a 

trump loser.  Let’s make a Rule: never make an opening lead from doubleton (or tripleton) 

Jack or Queen in trumps.  Not ever. 

 

Board 12 is interesting only in that at every table East played in 2♠ after a transfer sequence, 

but the number of tricks made varied between five and nine.  Those that went down 

apparently tried to scramble some tricks by ruffing hearts on dummy.   What about another 

rule: ruffing in the long trump hand is usually wrong. 

Sorry, got rather carried away…. 

 

Cliff Pavelin 


