Summertown Bridge Bulletin, 3 January 2022

Happy New Year to everyone, I guess for many of us it was the first bridge of 2022, although I see
ten of you were playing in the OBC Monday pairs this morning. Gluttons for punishment.

Well done to the winners, Mike and Irene, followed by Alison and Robert, both pairs scoring over
60%. [And I also saw Robert was first at Oxford this morning, a good start to 2022.]

I usually try to find some common theme in the hands I describe, preferably in the areas of play or
defence, rather than bidding, where everyone disagrees because there are no right or wrong answers.
But this evening, although most hands had points of interest, I could not connect anything together.

So here to start with, is Board 6:
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What’s that saying about insanity being defined as doing the same thing over and over again and
expecting a different result? * 1 (and others) made a mistake on this board very similar to one I
made - and wrote about - a few months ago.

Just about everyone is in 4% by East or West, always getting a club lead. You can avoid two club
losers by taking your Ace, then cashing ¢Q, playing to the YA and dumping your two club losers on
the top diamonds. This line will probably lose a trump trick, but if you try the heart finesse first and
it loses, your contract will go down (losing one heart, two clubs and a spade), so you don’t dare to
risk it.

Some declarers led a low heart to their Ace. But you may as well lead the ¥Q, and maybe some
Norths holding the King will be stupid enough to cover. You’ve guessed it, I was North and I
covered. Actually after the ¢Q I was expecting another diamond and when Rita played ¥Q |
hesitated long enough that I might as well play my King. So we were one of just three tables where
they made 12 tricks.

“wrongly attributed to Einstein



I felt unlucky on board 8:
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At most tables North opened INT
and East passed. South can then
safely bid 2&, Stayman. If North
bids a major, South passes; if North
bids 24, South signs off in 2%
(assuming you play this as a sign-off,
which most people do). So on this
board you end up in 24, a superior
contract to 2%. In fact at four tables,
South missed this chance and simply
transferred to hearts rather than make
the Stayman bid.

Against 29 by North, East has a very
difficult lead. Most chose #A,
hoping to find partner with the King
and getting a ruff [ suppose, although

with 15 points, it seems to me the chance of finding partner with the King is not so great. In fact this

lead is helpful to declarer.

But our East — and one other - doubled INT (rightly, I think, as he has a point more than the
maximum opener can have). In our system, all South can then do is sign off in hearts, via a redouble
and 2 bid from North. So we not only get into the worse contract, it is played by South, and West

has no problem choosing the #8 lead.

Finally, I must mention this slam
hand. Whether you are in 64 or 64,
you have to drop the ¢Q or hope that
they do not get the #A on the first
trick, as you can then hastily dump
your club loser on a top heart. But
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After the bidding 14 - 29, two Wests
ignored their diamond suit and rebid

34, and they were the only ones who 3
got to the superior slam. But what 13 14
does East do if partner’s second bid is 10

347 I thought I was too strong for 44
or 54, so I bid 4%, trying to say ‘I
think there’s slam here, help!’.
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Anyway we got to 64, maybe more by luck than judgement — and even though North did lead a club,

we managed to make it.

Cliff Pavelin



