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Board 4 

 

 

No one found the diamond slam. Many EWs played in 5 and others in 3NT.  

Could those Easts who committed to diamonds have reckoned, ‘Well, 3NT is probably going 

to score better than 5, so we might as well be in slam’? Sound logic at pairs. 

Unless you were Peter and his new best friend Mr Robot, the bidding should go 1NT-P-2-2

-P-P- round to East. So, what do you fancy? 3, 4, or 3 asking for a heart stop? South 

should have a really good suit for a vulnerable overcall, so 3 seems risky. If so, don’t you 

want to invite game with 4? After  1NT-P-2-2-P-P-4-P-, West knows East has four 

spades and six diamonds and should surely venture Blackwood? EW will coast to a making   

6, caring not a jot about Q, or where the naughty K is hiding. 

A veil must be drawn over those Souths who passed, those Wests who doubled 2 and 

those Norths who clicked any part of the screen that wasn’t bright green. 

Incidentally, how do you play 1NT-P-2-2-P-P-DBL by East? Penalties or take out? Have 

you agreed what it means in your partnership? 

  



Board 5 

 

 

Question: What’s the major benefit of playing a weak NT? 

Answer: Easy. It’s pre-emptive. 

Question: So why do we let our opponents play in 1NT so often? 

Answer: I haven’t a clue. 

We played a social game last month where our friends (and opponents) bid aggressively in 

the pass-out seat after 1NT-P-P- or P-1NT-P-P- 

We looked back over every 1NT contract by opener played this year at all the pairs sessions 

we’ve played in online. In around 2/3 of the boards, an intervention would have worked. 

I’m not talking about hands with a decent 5-card suit, I’m talking about yucky hands like the 

one South has here. 

The idea (and I’m NOT suggesting it is the way YOU should play) is that in the pass-out 

(protective) position, South bids a five card suit or otherwise doubles with, say, 8 HCP not 

vulnerable and 10 HCP vulnerable. It’s essentially a wriggle. 

If South bids 2, NS might be left there or EW may compete and regret it. If South doubles, 

North bids 4+ card suits up the line and NS would end up in 2. EW may compete and 

regret it unless they have a system to deal with these cheeky bids. Most partnerships don’t.  

After an intervention of this nature, is a double by East for penalties or take out? Discuss. 



 

Board 19 

 

Let’s finish with one of the easiest* Grand Slam boards you could hope to find. 

The astute South (I like it, Sara) judges that this is a 1 opening hand. Most club members 

preferred 2. After a 1 opening,North is now slamming, and the bidding goes: 

1-2-2 (only promises 5 spades)-4NT (RKCB)-5 (2 key cards, no Q)-6 (I can’t be sure 

I don’t have a spade loser)-7 (Partner doesn’t know how good my spades are). 

I don’t think the 5NT King ask Grand Slam try is useful here, as North is not interested in 

Kings and just wants a 6th spade. 

One pair opened a dodgy 3. Actually, after 3 (which should promise 7 spades in 1st and 

2nd seat), NS should bid the Grand almost automatically:  3-4NT-5-7. North can count 

at least 14 tricks. 

7NT also makes as the cards lie, but is not a sound contract, as South may need to ruff out a 

diamond, keeping A as an entry. 

* I jest! 

 

James Bentley 


