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Well, there were certainly some interesting hands in last night’s set – including a 9-card 

spade suit, something I don’t remember seeing for a while! There were several slams 

around too but, exciting as those are, we all know that in duplicate pairs, every hand counts 

equally towards your score no matter how high or low the contract may be. Accurate 

declarer play and defence are important, of course, but bidding judgement also plays a big 

part in success, particularly on competitive hands. In this bulletin we’ve picked out a couple 

of those and focussed on some factors that may help you decide what to do. 

To start with, here’s Board 6: 

East is dealer and opens 1♥ (well, the robots 

opened 1NT, but that’s robots for you!). 

South also has an opening hand, but is it now 

worth an overcall? Traditional wisdom would 

suggest that a 5-card suit with only one top 

honour isn’t good enough for a 2-level 

overcall, and sure enough, quite a few Souths 

passed. One or two made a take-out double 

despite only having 3 spades, but several did 

still bid 2♣.  

 

Looking at the vulnerability, we think it’s right to join in the bidding here if you possibly can. 

So, suppose it’s gone 1♥ – 2♣ and you’re looking at the West hand. You obviously want to 

support your partner, but how high should you go? You have lovely trumps, but your ♠Q 

looks a bit lonely – having the ♦Q instead would have been much more encouraging. 

However, your singleton is bound to be helpful, and what should sway you here is that it’s in 

the opponents’ suit. Let’s say, then, that you raise to game (which, as you can see from the 

analysis, is the right thing to do).  

Now North is holding the hot potato. With 4-card support for partner’s overcall, and nothing 

much in the way of defensive values, what should you do? Again, the vulnerability should 

help you decide. If E/W can make a vulnerable game, you can go as many as 3 down 

doubled and still be better off (-500 instead of -620). So, you should bid 5♣. 

Only two N/S pairs followed this line of reasoning. One was left undoubled and went two 

down for an excellent result, as -100 beat all the pairs where E/W were in part score making 

+170. The other pair were doubled and duly lost 500, which was indeed better than letting 

E/W make 4♥. As it turned out though, this pair were on a losing wicket whatever they did, 

as hardly any other table had actually gone to 4♥. It can be a very frustrating game 

sometimes!  



 

Another particularly interesting hand last night was board 12: 

On the night, 7 E/W pairs played this hand in 

diamonds, at any level from 2 to 5. Three N/S 

pairs managed to win the auction at the right 

level (for them) of 3♠, and one unfortunate 

East was left to play in a difficult 1NT. 

 

It’s a good hand for those who include a weak 

2♦ opening in their armoury, as West has the 

ideal hand for this. Assuming North passes, 

East’s 4-card support indicates the need to “up 

the ante” with a further pre-empt – but how 

high? If you’re going to choose 4♦ (which will almost certainly shut up your opponents), you 

need to have an agreement with your partner that this is pre-emptive and not invitational, 

in order to stop partner going any further. If you don’t have such an agreement, it’s 

probably better to try 3♦; although here, this may not be enough to stop South from 

coming in with a 3♠ bid, or possibly a takeout double. 

If West doesn’t have a bid available to show a weak two in diamonds, then East can open 

with a weak NT. Now South should pipe up, even at this vulnerability, either with a 

conventional bid showing spades and a minor if you have one, or else with a natural 2♠.  

West can now overcall 3♦ as a natural bid – but will East know how strong it is? If you play 

Lebensohl, this is an ideal opportunity to wheel it out, bidding an artificial 2NT with the 

intention of playing in 3♦. Unfortunately North can scupper this cunning plan by bidding 3♠, 

but a brave West might still look at the vulnerability and continue to 4♦, knowing partner 

must have at least two cards in the suit. 

Finally, this hand is a good illustration of the so-called “Law of Total Tricks”. It’s too long to 

explain here in full (google it if you’re interested), but the basic principle is that when both 

sides have a trump fit, then the total number of tricks available to both sides  is usually the 

same as the total number of trumps held by both sides. Here, N/S have 9 spades and E/W 

have 10 diamonds, so the total number of trumps is 19: and the total number of tricks is 

also 19, since N/S can make 9 tricks in spades and E/W can make 10 tricks in diamonds. 

Bearing this calculation in mind, together with the vulnerability and therefore the size of any 

penalty for going off, can sometimes help you decide whether or not to bid on, particularly 

when you have a good idea of the total number of trumps held by your opponents. 
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