SOMBA
Release 2.19n
..... see less
Call the Director

 

    Issue #7.  

As dummy you may not talk to the declarer.

In fact, you may not call declarer's attention to anything except that he is about to lead from the wrong hand or to ask if he is out of the suit being played. ..........
..... see more
Recent Updates
Home Page
1st Aug 2020 09:16 EDT
Club & Tournament Results
24th Jun 2020 09:47 EDT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020
Director's Tips

DIRECTOR'S TIPS

1.   Why am I sometimes an "A', "B" or a "C"?   There are two reasons that the strata (A/B/C) you are assigned may be different from week to week.

(A) The strata limits for all multi-site games: STaC, Inter-Club Championships, NAP, etc. are set by the rules for that type of game. The limits generally pertain to the average points for the pair. The start limits are usually: A 2500+, B 750-2500 and C <= 750.

(B) For other type of games, to maximize the number of people that receive points, we need to have have the number of pairs in each strata to be equally divided. When you sign-up for the game, we try to divide the players as equally as possible among the strata. Since we never know who will actually show up for a game, sometimes, we fail. We then use a function in ACBLScore to manually adjust the strata so that if we have 12 Tables, we end up with 4 A's, 4 B's and 4 C's divided as evenly as possible. It requires a minimum of 2.5 C tables to ensure masterpoints are awarded to C players. We also strive to have the best players divided evenly as possible between NS and E-W This only applies to Mitchell Movement games where the N-S pairs compete against each other and the E-W pairs compete against each other. This action doe not affect overalls because it is based on ranking pairs from top to bottom based on their percentage score.

2.   How to play a card.

When you play a card, lay it on the table vertically in front of you and take your hand away. When the person that won the trick turns their card over, this signals that you should turn your card over. If you are not done analyzing the trick or planning your next move, ask that everyone turn their card back face up until you are ready to proceed. If you have turned your card over, you may no longer request the trick to be re-faced. If you develop this habit, everyone will have the opportunity see all played cards and have the time they need to determine their next action.

3.  When is the correct time to plan your defense?

Your partner makes an opening lead, and Declarer calls for a a card to be played. Is this the correct time to stop and determine your defensive strategy? No!

You should play in tempo. If you stop to ponder, your action will be interpreted as you are trying to decide which card to play in the suit, thus giving unauthorized information. The correct way to play, is to play your card in tempo, and then ask everyone to leave their card face-up on the table while you plan your defense, regardless if you won the trick or not. 

4.  When has a card been played from dummy?


Law 45. B. Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table.

In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself.

5.  1♣  Open "Could be Short" Announcement.  

If 1♣  opener could have <= 2♣, and their convention card says they can have <= 2♣, you MUST announce the 1♣  "Could be Short".  (e.g. 5♠, 3♥, 3♦, 2♣ )

 

6. Why should I look at my Opponent’s Convention Card instead of asking when it is my turn to bid?

A. You can look at an opponent’s Convention Card at any time, not when it is just your turn.
B. If you ask about a bid, the partner of the opponent that made the bid will provide the explanation to you and his partner, which may help the partner remember something that 
was forgotten.  Asking instead of looking at the Convention Card sometimes helps the opponents. If there is something you don’t understand and does not impact your bidding, wait until the auction is over and then ask.

 

7. As dummy you may not call the director.

In fact, you may not call declarer's attention to anything except that he is about to lead from the wrong hand or to ask if he is out of the suit being played. As dummy you may not play or touch any card in dummy (even a singleton) until declarer calls the card.  If declarer designates a suit, but not the rank, he is deemed to have called for the lowest card of the suit indicated.  If declarer designates a rank but not a suit, he is deemed to be continuing the suit in which dummy won the last trick.