RDS Bridge Club
Release 2.19p

The Bridge Club is open to all members of the RDS.  We play on Wednesday evenings at 7:30 pm.  All grades of bridge players are welcome.  Due to COVID19 restrictions we can no longer play in our beautiful library, instead we play online from home, using Bridge Base Onine (BBO).

If you would like more information about playing in the Club, please contact either the President, Cecily O'Donovan (085 7670 115) or the Honorary Secretary, Marcella Maughan (087 9757 207).

Enjoy The Game
Enjoy The Game

Be Good To Your Partner


We start the New Year with a tournament on BBO on Wednesday 5th January

Hopefully, we will return to live bridge in the library in a few weeks, months,...  

In the meantime, enjoy your bridge on BBO.

Robots are back in play!

Two robots will be seated in our tournaments starting 19th January 2022 to avoid sitouts. Note that robots always announce their bids so that should help to play against them.
They play quickly, but you do not have to follow their rhythm - play at your own speed.
Robots play the American 2/1 system - this is basically 5 card majors, strong NT, weak 2s - full details are available here BBO Robots Bidding System


IBU SIMS pairs on BBO

The results of the IBU SIMS Pairs are now available online

You can access the overall results here ECatsBridge - IBU SIM Pairs Wednesday

The commentary booklet is available here 006268 IBU Wednesday 2021 Commentary and on the SIMS Pairs results page

The final results will not be known for a day or so until all the participating clubs have uploaded their results

Farewell message from TD Maurice O'Leary

The constraints of WhatsApp and BBO meant that I could not fully express my feelings this evening.
My 6 years at the RDS have been amongst the most fulfilling and happiest of my life.
The support and friendship of all the members made my work so much easier.

But life moves on and Bridge in the sun is the centre of our new life in Cambrils at our local clubs in Reus and Tarragona.
We hope to see some of you at our bridge holidays here in Cambrils, Lanzarote and Italy -

You will be in good hands with Joe Dempsey.

Hasta la vista!

2021 President's Prize

Congratulations to Sheila Hillis and Marcella Maughan on their great win of President Pat Cannon's Prize. They held off a serious challenge from Betty Cody and Sheila Horkan. There was a exciting tussle for third place that resulted in a tie between Joan Lewis and Graeme Williams, and Pat Cowley and Anne-Marie Feeney.

We all enjoyed two exciting sessions of Bridge where the cards caused many to play very carefully. Sincere thanks to our President Pat for his support of the competition and to Maurice O'Leary for his patience as Tournament Director.



2021 RDS Perpetual Trophy
2021 RDS Perpetual Trophy

Twenty pairs competed for the RDS Perpetual Trophy on BBO over the two weeks of 13th and 20th January 2021. Results were very close with Juliet and Eamonn Kelly scooping first place. Denise Sampson and Josephine Fitzpatrick were second and Sheila Hillis and Phil Harnett were third. Due to COVID19 restrictions there was no formal,presentation but a photo of Juliet and Eamonn celebrating their win may be seen here.

Charity Fundraiser

Our BBO Charity Tournament on 16th December 2020 raised €3,700 for the Holles Street Linen Guild. Congratulations to the committee members who organised this event with great enthusiasm and to the members who contributed by playing in the tournament and by giving donations.

Gwen Morgan Trophy
Gwen Morgan Trophy

Congratulations to the winners of the Gwen Morgan Trophy, Betty Cody and Sheila Horkan. Twenty pairs played on BBO on 18th November 2020 for the lovely trophy presented by Sheila Hillis in memory of her late mother. Due to COVID restrictions there was no formal presentation but another photo of the winners may be seen here (to be cropped and resized). The full results may be seen in the list on the right hand side of the screen.

Marie Owens Competition
Marie Owens Competition

Phil Hartnett and Michael Fitzgibbon were the deserving winners of the Marie Owens competition played on BBO over two weeks of 14th & 21st October. The full results may be seen on the right hand side of the screen. Due to COVID restrictions there was no formal presentation but individual photos of the prizewinners may be seen here. Michael Fitzgibbon with his feline friend is shown on the left.

Marie Owens Competition cont ...
Marie Owens Competition cont ...

This panel shows Phil Hartnett, the other member of the winning pair.

The late Marie Owens was an enthusiastic member of the RDS Bridge Club. After her death, her family found lots of brown envelopes containing Bridge prizes and they used them to donate a trophy in her memory.

Need a Bridge Partner?

There are a number of ways to find a Bridge partner in the RDS. They include:

1. Using the printed Members' Contact List.

2. We have a What's App group to facilitate finding a partner if needed.  If you wish to be on

this list please contact the Hon. Secretary Marcella Maughan (087 9757 207) 

Committee 2021-2022

President Cecily O'Donovan, Hon. Secretary Marcella Maughan, Hon. Treasurer Arthur Ryan, Past President Pat Cannon, and Veronica Donoghue, Marie Hutton, Ann Kenneally, Mary Masterson and Mary Whelan 

RDS Perpetual Trophy - Round 1
Wednesday Pairs
Wednesday Pairs
Wednesday Pairs / BBO
Director: Joe Dempsey
Christmas Competition / BBO
Director: Joe Dempsey
Maeve White Turkey Drive / BBO
Director: Joe Dempsey
Wednesday Pairs / BBO
Director: Joe Dempsey
Gwen Morgan Trophy (Individual) / BBO
Director: Joe Dempsey
26th Jan 2022
RDS Perpetual Trophy - Round 2
2nd Feb 2022
9th Feb 2022
Wednesday Pairs
16th Feb 2022
Wednesday Pairs
23rd Feb 2022
Wednesday Pairs
2nd Mar 2022
Wednesday Pairs
9th Mar 2022
Wednesday Pairs
16th Mar 2022
Wednesday Pairs