
Some Thoughts on Defensive 
Adages

Keep Your Head in the Game



Defense

• Second hand low
• Third hand high
• Cover an honor with an honor.
• When we learn bridge, we hear those axioms 

over and over. 
• We learn to follow them, rigorously.
• They are good advice.  We should follow them 

the vast majority of times.
• However, there are exceptions.  Let’s look at 

some.



Second Hand Low? Example 1

Dummy

 ♠ Q 5 

 You

♠ K 9 4 2

           Declarer

 ♠  6

• Declarer leads a spade 
toward dummy.

• If you don’t take you 
king you might not get 
it.

• If declarer has ♠ A 6 3, 

• the queen will win, 
declarer will play his 
ace and ruff his last 
spade. 



Second Hand Low? Example 2

Dummy

 ♠ Q 5 

 You                Partner

♠ K 9 4 2       ♠ A 10 8 7

           Declarer

 ♠  J 6 3

• What if the situation is 
like this?

• Now if you take your 
king, you give declarer a 
trick in the suit he 
cannot get if you play 
low. 

• How do you know what 
to do?   



Second Hand Low? Example 3 

Dummy

 ♠ A 10 6 4 

 You                Partner

                    ♠ K 9 4 2        

           Declarer

 ♠ Q 9

• The same principle from 
the other side.

• Declarer leads low from 
dummy.

• Declarer almost surely 
has the queen.  

• So it is probably best to 
play second hand high. 



Second Hand Low? Example 4 

Dummy

 ♠ Q 8 6  

 You                Partner

                    ♠ A 9 4 2        

           Declarer

 

• Suppose this is 
dummy’s holding. 

• Now you must play 
second hand low.

• In case your partner has 
the ace and declarer 
has ♠ J 7 5

• Do your best to hold 
your king over the 
queen. 



Second Hand Low? Example 5 

Dummy

 ♠ A J 10   

 You                Partner

 ♠ K Q 2        

           Declarer

 ♠ 5

• If you play low, declarer 
will surely play the jack.

• So, here you should 
probably play second 
hand high and split your 
honors.  



Second Hand Low? Example 6 

Dummy

 ♠ A J 9  

 You                Partner

 ♠ K Q 2         ♠ 10 8 7 6

           Declarer

 ♠ 5 4 3

• If this is the situation, 
you should probably 
play low.  

• The correct way to play 
this combination is to 
finesse the 9.

• If you split your honors, 
you make it easy for the 
declarer. 

• Play low in tempo.  



Second Hand Low? Example 7 

Dummy

 ♠ K 9 7 4 3 

 You                Partner

 ♠ A J 8 6 2         ♠ Q10

           Declarer

 ♠ 5

• If you count, you know 
there are only 3 missing 
clubs.

• Declarer might have a 
singleton and if you 
don’t take your ace, you 
won’t get it.



Second Hand Low? Example 8 

Dummy
 ♠ K 9 7 4 3 

 You                Partner

 ♠ A J 8 6 2         ♠10

           Declarer

 ♠ Q 5

• If you count, you know 
there are only 3 missing 
clubs.

• However, declarer might 
be fooling you with this 
holding.  

• In this case if you take 
your ace, declarer gets 
two tricks.

• Second hand low is the 
rule.  Disobey it at your 
peril.  



An Entire Hand Example 
Dummy

 ♠ A K J
            ♥ K 7 5
            ♦ Q 6 3 
            ♣ A J 10 8

 You                    Partner
♠ 9 4 2               ♠ 10 7 6 3
♥ A J 3               ♥ 9 8 6 2
♦ 10 9 8 7          ♦ 5 4 2
♣ 7 4 3              ♣ 9 8 

           Declarer
 ♠ Q 9 5
            ♥ Q 10 4
            ♦ A K J 
            ♣ K Q 5 2

• Opponents arrive at 6nt.
• You lead the ♦10.
• Had you led your ♥A, 

declarer would have 12 
tricks.  

• Declarer leads a ♥4, 
toward dummy.  Do you 
play low or high? 

• If you play low, you set 
the contract.

• If you play high, declarer 
makes the contract.  



Another Defensive Rule

• When you were in your crib, happily sucking 
on your passifier, you probably learned “Third-
hand high.”

• Many of us learned it wrong.  We should have 
been taught third hand as high as necessary, 
most of the time. 



Third-Hand High? Example 9

Dummy

 ♠ Q 7 4  

 West                East

 ♠ 3                  ♠ K J 6

           Declarer

 ♠ 

• You might be surprised 
how many beginners, 
having learned third-
hand high, will play the 
king when the declarer 
calls for the 4.  

• The correct play, of 
course, is the jack.

• Third-hand as high as 
necessary.   



Third-Hand High? Example 10

Dummy

 ♠ Q 7 4  

 West                 East

 ♠ 3                  ♠ K 10 6

           Declarer

 ♠ 

• Even with this holding, 
you should play the 10, 
rather than the king, 
when declarer calls a 
low card. 

• Save your king to take 
the queen if possible. 

• Of course, if you had         
♠ K 6 2, you’d play 
the king.  



Third-Hand High? Example 11

Dummy

 ♠ 8 7 4  

 West                 East

 ♠ Q 9 3 2         ♠ K 10 6

           Declarer

 ♠ A J 5 

• The reason we play 
third-hand high is to set 
up something in 
partner’s hand. 

• You play high to force 
declarer’s ace. Later, 
when you get in, you 
lead the ten to deprive 
declarer of his jack.



Third-Hand High? Example 11

Dummy

 ♠ Q J 10 9 

 West                 East

 ♠ 2                ♠ K 8 6

           Declarer

 ♠ A 5 

• If there is no chance 
playing high can set up 
something in your hand 
or partner’s hand, there is 
on reason to play high.

• If you assume partner is 
not underleading the ace, 
there is no reason to play 
your king. 

• Declarer might have 
something like this:



Third-Hand High? Example 112

Dummy

 ♠ K J 10 7  

 West                 East

 ♠ 2                 ♠ Q 6 3

           Declarer

 ♠ A 8 5 

• Partner leads the 
deuce. Declarer calls for 
the Jack.

• Playing your queen 
would only help 
declarer.  

• Play low smoothly and 
declarer might think 
partner has the queen 
and finesse.



Third-Hand High? Example 13

Dummy
 ♠ Q 10 7 2  

 West                 East

 ♠ 4                 ♠ K 6 5

           Declarer

 ♠ A  

• The auction can help you 
decide whether or not to 
play high.

• Suppose partner has 
opened  1♠.  

• You know declarer has 
only one spade and it is 
the ace. 

• Once we point this out, it 
is obvious, but unthinking 
defenders will get it 
wrong.  



Cover an Honor With an Honor

• Good advice in many cases, but not in all 
cases.

• Just like playing third-hand high, you cover 
when there is a chance of setting up a winner 
in your hand or in partner’s hand.  

• When there is no chance to do this, don’t 
cover.  



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 14

Dummy

 ♠ Q 8 3  

 West                 East

 ♠ 10 7 2             ♠ K 5 4 

           Declarer

 ♠ A J 9 6 

• Declarer leads the queen 
from dummy. You will 
cover with your king.

• You don’t know it will 
help, but it might help. 

• If this is the situation, 
covering gives declarer 
two tricks.

• Not covering gives her 3 
tricks. 



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 15

Dummy

 ♠ A J 10 9 6  

 West                 East

 ♠ K 5 4             

           Declarer

 ♠ Q 

• Declarer leads the 
queen from the closed 
hand.

• Should you cover?

• No.  There is no chance 
of setting up a trick in 
your hand or partner’s 
hand.    



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 16

Dummy

 ♠ A J 10 9 6  

 West                 East

 ♠ K 4             

           Declarer

 ♠ Q 

• Here’s another case.  

• Declarer has opened 1 
and the opponent have 
arrived at a six spade 
contract.  

• Declarer leads the queen, 
should you cover?

• No way!!! 

• Partner has 1 or zero 
spades.  



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 17

Dummy

 ♠ A 9 6 4  

 West                 East

 ♠ Q 6 3             

           Declarer

 ♠ J 

• Declarer has opened 
1♠.

• They have arrived at 4♠.

• Declarer wins the 
opening lead and leads 
the ♠J. Should you 
cover?

• Partner has 1 spade. It 
might be the king.  



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 18

Dummy

 ♠ J 10 8 5  

 West                 East

 ♠ A 9 7            ♠ Q 6 2 

           Declarer

 ♠ K 4 3 

• Even when it is right to 
cover, you need to think 
about when to cover.

• Declarer leads the jack 
from dummy.  

• You should cover, but not 
the jack.

• Cover the 10.

• If you plan to cover, cover 
the last card in a 
sequence.  



Cover an Honor with an Honor? 
Example 19

Dummy

 ♠ Q J 4  

 West                 East

 ♠ 10 6 5            ♠ K 7 3 

           Declarer

 ♠ A 9 8 2 

• One more example of 
covering the last card in a 
sequence.

• Declarer plays the queen.

• If you cover, declarer wins 
the ace then traps your 
partner’s 10.  Gets 4 
tricks.

• If you wait and cover the 
jack, declarer gets only 
three tricks. 



Final Thoughts

• The defensive axioms:
– Second-hand low
– Third-hand high
– Cover an honor with an honor

• Are good advice most of the time.   
• And you should follow them most of the time.
• However, they are not absolute.  
• Keep your head in the game and follow them 

when it is right to do so, and disobey then when 
that is the right thing to do. 
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