Accepting An Invitation




When Partner Makes an Invitation

You Parther
1 1 e
1 nt 2nt

« Partner is inviting you to bid 3 no trump or
pass. What should you be thinking about?



After Partner’s Invitation

* You might be thinking:
— Partner has 10 to 12 hcps.
— 4 spades, not five (no nmf)

* This shouldn’t be your first thought.
Partner knows you know this from the
bidding.

* Your thoughts should not be on partner’s
hand, but on your own hand.



What Should You Be Thinking

* You've put your hand in a box:
— Relatively balanced
— Between 12 and 14 (maybe 15) points

— Where, within that box, would you place your
hand?

— Top? Or Bottom?

* You need to judge how the hands are
fitting together.

e Sometimes more art than science.



Is Your Hand a Good Hand?

1&....1a...1nt....2nt

Hand 1 Hand 2
4432 Q102
vyKJ7 vyAJ109
¢KJ5 ¢52
+2KQ43 +AQ107

Abad 13 A good 13



One More Example

Hand 3
Q2
vyAJ109
¢52
+AQ1075

A really
good 13



Here’'s Another Invitation

You Partnher

1nt 2 ¢
29 39

Hand 4
aKJ7
v93
¢AQJ4
»AJ53

decline

Hand 5

o KJ
v932
¢AQJA4
»AJ109

Probably
accept

Hand 6

o K?2
vQ93
¢AQJ4
«A1095

Accept!l!



Here’'s Another Invitation

You Partnher

Int 2 ¢
29 2nt

Hand 7
aKQ7
v93
¢AQJ4
»2A1075

decline

Hand 8
e K97
vQ9
¢AQJA4
»A1095

Probably
accept

Hand 9
Q102
v K 10
¢AQJ4
«A1095

Accept!l!



What Should You be Thinking
About?

« Count points for sure. Where In the box
does your hand sit? But, that’s not all.

 How does your hand fit with what you
know of partner’'s hand?

» Consider this bidding, playing 2/1.
you partner

1l 1nt

2 % 39



Should You Pass or Go On?

Hand 10
aKJ7
YyAJ973
¢K®6
»J95

Hand 11
aKJ7
YyAJ1073
¢K®6

»J 109

Hand 13
487
YAKJO97
¢6
+KQ1095

Hand 12
aKQJ7
vyAJ1093
¢6
«»0Q109



Are HCPs In Your Long Suits?

* Suppose you have a side suit
~AK Q10

* Or you have 3 side suits that look like this
~A83 K75 Q32



Consider These Two Hands

Hand 14

o7
vyAQJ1073
¢K®6
»«A1095

Hand 15
073
vyAQJ107
¢K63
»A95



Consider Distribution and Quacks

* If you have 4-3-3-3 distribution, you should
deduct a point from the hand.

* If you have 2 more quacks than aces and
kings, deduct a point.



Consider These Two Hands

Hand 16 Hand 17
Q75 /5
vAJ75 YyAK107
¢+QJ6 ¢KQ109
+KJ5 «+Q109
14 14

points points +



Consider These Two Hands

Hand 18 Hand 19
aKJ5 41098
YKQ73 vyAK107
¢QJ 6 ¢KQJI
+A105 +K 10

16 points +
16

points



