Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Minutes of the 2014 AGM

Minutes of the 2014 AGM
of the North Cambridge Bridge Club


Date:               Monday 9th June 2014
Time:               6.45 p.m.
Place:              Girton Pavilion, Recreation Ground, Girton

There were 31 members present, including John Pearce (Chairman), Alison Lloyd (Secretary) and Susan Mealing (Treasurer).

  1. Apologies for absence had been received from Wendy Pollard, Kathrin Peters, Ian McDonald, Elizabeth Poynder, Joanne Caldwell, Chris Murray, Andrew Gregory, Derek & Margaret Sayers, Peter Cowley, Myrxiam Warburton, Alan Edwards, David Pett, Peter Morgan and Ted Shaw
  2. Minutes of the Last Meeting
    The Minutes of the meeting held on 20th May 2013 were agreed to be a true record. Proposed by Fred Allen and seconded by Pat Atkins.
  3. Matters Arising
    There were no matters arising.
  4. Chairman’s Report
    More than 12 months have elapsed since my last report and as ever another year of enjoyable bridge. 

    Angela & Roy Newman have moved on to green fields and pastures new.  Their imminent departure brought their contribution to the Club into sharp focus.  Their duties have been taken over by Verity Joubert, Robert Wright and Ed Graham.  Verity is now the primary scorer, Robert has added duplimating and scoring to his existing duties of tournament director and club caretaker, Ed has assumed the responsibility for all technical issues.  I look forward to working with them and I hope that you all will attempt to make their lives easier by diligently completing the travellers.

    My thanks go to all the members of the committee in their efforts to ensure the smooth running of the club.

    The Christmas party was again well attended and as ever the refreshments were delightful.  The raffle raised £303 which was donated to Magpas.  During the year charitable donations have been made to the annual Children in Need event and to the Philippines Crisis appeal.

    I hope you all continue to enjoy your bridge.
  5. Treasurer’s Report
    The accounts for the year to 31 March 2014 which have been audited by David Pett show a loss of £428.71 compared to a profit of £230.89 the previous year.  These figures include a depreciation charge of £400. 

    The loss can be explained by the following:
    • An adjustment has been made to the accounts this year to include two lots of prize money as previously they seemed to be running a year behind.
    • Charitable donations have increased this year as we gave all our table money to Children in Need and the Philippines Crisis appeal rather than just the additional amount collected over and above the normal table money.

    Given that this would appear to be a one-off loss and owing to the current level of reserves we do not propose any change in either the membership fee or table money.   However it is proposed that only the top pair in the monthly Prize Pairs competition will receive £5per player and that there will be no prize for the second placed pair.

    I would like to thank David Pett for his audit of the accounts and to confirm his willingness to perform this arduous task again next year!

    The adoption of the Accounts for the year to 31 March 2014 was proposed by Lyn Mason and seconded by Peter Last.

  6. Election of Auditor
    David Pett had kindly offered to continue as Auditor.

    Peter Last proposed, and Verity Joubert seconded the re-appointment of David Pett as auditor.
  7. Tournament Director’s Report
    I would like to thank all the directors for taking their turn and to you for making directing easy for us. Slow play is still a concern and I would like to remind members that we play 2 boards every 15 minutes. I had to set up one major appeal this year plus deal with other minor points. May I remind you that when claiming you must make a clear statement as to the order in which the cards will be played.

    A special thanks to Roy for scoring and making up the boards each week and to Angela for putting up with this and bringing the boards in each week.  Also to Ann Aplin and Margaret Sayers for doing the scoring when Roy is away. Thanks to Verity for taking on the job of scoring.

    All teams got knocked out in the first round but all made it to the third round of the plate (there being no second round) and Pat Atkins, John Pearce, Graham Clarke, Ian Aldridge and Eric Campbell made it to round four before being knocked out by Kettering B.

    Cambs League
    Team one of Ian Aldridge, Pat Atkin, Graham Clarke, Chris Dickman and John Pearce finished 3rd in League 1.
    Team two of Andrew Wilkinson, Alison Lloyd, Peter Cowley, Robert Wright, Susan Mealing and Peter Last finished 4th in League 2

    If you wish to enter a team in the NICKO or Cambs League please let me know.

    During the year many club members have played in EBU competitions and congresses with the following success:
    County Pairs: Pat Atkins, Graham Clarke finished 11th.
    Swiss Pairs: Lorraine Waters, Alan Edwards finished 4th. Pat Atkins, Graham Clarke finished 6th and Rosanne Mattock, David layman won the ascenders prize.
    East Anglian bridge weekend Swiss Pairs: Tanawan Watts, Alison Lloyd finished 7th.

    It was suggested that using a timer on a laptop to ensure that bridge is played at a reasonable speed should be considered at the next committee meeting.
  8. Election of Officers and Committee
    Nominations for officers and committee members had been posted on the notice-board, and there were no contested positions. The following were therefore elected having been proposed by various members.

    John Pearce – Chairman

    Alison Lloyd – Secretary

    Susan Mealing – Treasurer

    Robert Wright – Tournament Director

    Lorraine Waters – Refreshments

    Verity Joubert – Scorer

    Ed Graham – Webmaster

  9. Presentation of Prizes

    Championship Pairs:

    Verity Joubert & Fred Allen

    Championship Teams:

    Wendy Pollard & Tom Crawley

    Andrew Gregory & Ed Graham

    Winter Pairs:

    Wendy Pollard & Eric Campbell

    Handicap Pairs:

    Angela & Roy Newman

    Handicap Teams:

    Susan Mealing & Peter Last

    Pat Atkins & Graham Clarke

  10. Any Other Business
    Roger Salmon proposed a vote of thanks to the committee for all their hard work throughout the year. 

    There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7.10 p.m.