Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Minutes of the 2015 AGM

Minutes of the 2015 AGM
of the North Cambridge Bridge Club


Date:               Monday 18th May 2015
Time:               6.45 p.m.
Place:              Girton Pavilion, Recreation Ground, Girton

There were 25 members present, including John Pearce (Chairman), Alison Lloyd (Secretary) and Susan Mealing (Treasurer).

  1. Apologies for absence had been received from Ian McDonald, Joanne Caldwell, Peter Cowley, Peter Last, Ed Graham, Lorraine Waters, Alan Edwards, David Pett, Ted Shaw Andrew Wilkinson, and Margaret Mitchley.
  2. Minutes of the Last Meeting
    The Minutes of the meeting held on 9th June 2014 were agreed to be a true record. Proposed by Verity Joubert and seconded by Fred Allen.
  3. Matters Arising
    There were no matters arising.
  4. Chairman’s Report
    John Pearce said that the Christmas Party was well attended as usual and a good time was had by all.  The raffle raised £237 which was donated to Headway. A further £85 was raised during the year and donated to Children in Need.

    He said that he would like to thank all the members of the committee for their contributions to the smooth running of the club, particularly Robert who has carried on in spite of concerns for his own health.

    Verity also needs a mention as she has to deal with the vagaries of an ageing membership.  For her sake he asked that everyone should give special attention to scoring correctly.
  5. Treasurer’s Report
    The accounts for the year to 31 March 2015 were circulated prior to the meeting and have been audited by David Pett.  They show a breakeven position for the year although these figures include a final depreciation charge of £286 which means that the duplimate machine is now fully depreciated.

    Given our current level of reserves we do not propose any change in either the membership fee or table money.

    Sue Mealing said that she would like to thank David Pett for his audit of the accounts and to confirm his willingness to perform this arduous task again next year!

    The adoption of the Accounts for the year to 31 March 2015 was proposed by Ann Aplin and seconded by Derek Sayers.
  6. Election of Auditor
    David Pett had kindly offered to continue as Auditor.

    Fred Allen proposed, and Trevor McCann seconded the re-appointment of David Pett as auditor.
  7. Tournament Director’s Report
    Robert Wright said that since we have been using the clock slow play has improved a lot but some pairs are still taking more than the 15 minutes to play 2 boards.  Having talked to the EBU directors this should be adequate time for a club night. If you have not started to bid when the clock turns red you must take an average so you can start the next round on time.

    Arriving late at a table late can be a procedural penalty (law 90) and you can be fined up to 6 imps per round. But at this time we do not enforce this and we do not wish to in the future.

    He said he would like to thank all the directors for taking their turn and to everyone for making directing easy for us. It would help if you hold post mortems at the end of the round (quietly) if there is time.  He had no major appeal this year just minor points.

    Thanks to Verity for doing the scoring.

    All teams won round 1 and all got knocked out in the next round.

    Cambs League
    Team one of Ian Aldridge, Pat Atkin, Graham Clarke, Eric Campbell, Roger Salmon and Jon Bonsor-Matthews finished mid-table in League 1.
    Team two of Andrew Wilkinson, Alison Lloyd, Peter Cowley, Robert Wright, Susan Mealing and Peter Last have one more match to play and need to win 12-8 to stay in League 2.

    If you wish to enter a team in the NICKO or Cambs League please let Robert know.

    During the year many club members have played in EBU competitions and congresses with the following success:
    • County Pairs: Pat Atkins and Graham Clarke finished 13th.
    • Swiss Pairs: Alison Lloyd and Verity Joubert and Jon Bonsor-Matthews and Roger Salmon finished joint top. Pat Atkins, Graham Clarke finished 3rd and Tanawan Watts and Simon Stokes finished joint 4th
    • In WBF supporting youth bridge Alison Lloyd and Peter Cowley finished 42nd in the world and 6th in England.
    Eric Campbell won the most master points (597) playing here on a Monday night.
  8. Election of Officers and Committee
    Nominations for officers and committee members had been posted on the notice-board, and there were no contested positions. The following were therefore elected having been proposed by various members.

    John Pearce – Chairman
    Alison Lloyd – Secretary
    Susan Mealing – Treasurer
    Robert Wright – Tournament Director
    Lorraine Waters - Refreshments
    Verity Joubert - Scorer
    Ed Graham - Webmaster
  9. Presentation of Prizes

    Championship Pairs:

    Andrew Gregory & Ed Graham

    Championship Teams:

    Eric Campbell & Ian Aldridge
    Peter Morgan & Frank Padgett

    Winter Pairs:

    Ann Aplin & Chris Dickman

    Handicap Pairs:

    Zona Lacy & Cynthia Bull

    Handicap Teams:

    Ann Aplin & Chris Dickman
    Lorraine Waters & Alan Edwards

  10. Any Other Business
    The use of the clock was discussed in more detail and it was confirmed that players could remind the opposition that time was ticking away if they were playing slowly and that the director could also be called if this continued to be the case.

    Chris Dickman asked if the playing cards could be changed more often as many of them are very sticky and it was agreed that this would be done.

    Ann Aplin proposed a vote of thanks to the committee for all their hard work throughout the year.

    There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7.10 p.m.