However say West bids 1♠, the auction going 1♥ from partner, 1♠ on your right. Does that change things?
You bet they’e different! When West bids, the pressure is taken off you, as partner now has another bid. Your 1NT bid remains as nominally 6-9, although in practice nearer nine than six, but you are actually expressing the opinion that you want to play 1NT. It is not some nebulous dustbin bid any longer.
West led ♣A, East encouraging with ♣J (“throw high means aye”), and West followed with ♣K and ♣10. East trumped with ♥Q and, although declarer could overtump with ♥A, West’s ♥J10 was promoted into a trick. Down one.
What should have happened
As above - but in 4 ♥. Game made.
If you remember just one thing...
When the Losing Trick Count tells you to bid 5 ♥/♠, settle safely for 4 ♥/♠.
Declarer ruffed in dummy and hoping for the three remaining trumps to split 2-1, led to his ace. West discarding was a fatal blow and he could only concede a diamond to East's queen. 5 ♦ one down.
Things were rather different at Table Two where the pugnacious North-South had bid 6 ♦. With a blind lead, West reasonably selected a club.
Declarer won dummy's ace and led a diamond to the ace. West discarding was but a minor inconvenience (unlike at Table One) because dummy still had a trump with which to take the second-round marked finesse against East's queen.
Declarer crossed to the ace-king-queen of spades, discarding two hearts, then led a second trump to the (ten and) jack. The king felled East's queen and just one heart was lost at the end. 12 tricks and 6 ♦ made. The slam succeeded whilst game failed.
Should declarer have taken a first round finesse at Table One? Probably. It is just possible East has 12-14 points (for his 1 NT opener) with West holding the queen of diamonds (singleton as East has to have at least two). Unlikely though.
You're receiving this because you subscribe to Andrew Robson Bridge e-bridge letters
Edit your subscription | Unsubscribe
Andrew Robson Bridge Club,
31 Parsons Green Lane,
London SW6 4HH.
Tel: +44 (0)207 471 4626
This guide serves as a brief reminder of how to behave at the bridge table. We are sure that all
players naturally follow this code of conduct but there are times when concentration and pressure
can take their toll and it is for these situations that we issue this as a reminder.
· Greet others in a friendly manner prior to start of play on each round.
· Be a good “host” or “guest” at the table.
· Make your convention card readily available to your opponents and fill it
· Make bridge enjoyable for yourself, partner and opponents.
· Give credit when opponents make a good bid or play.
· Take care of your personal grooming.
· Ensure that your mobile phone is turned off.
· Enjoy the company as well as the game.
Remember that it is rude to criticise your partner or opponents in public, to be less than polite at
the table, to gloat over good results or object to a call for the tournament director or to dispute or
argue about a director’s ruling.
As in all games that our governed by rules and regulations, bad behaviour will be penalized ....
If a player at the table behaves in an unacceptable manner, the director should be called
immediately. Annoying behaviour, embarrassing remarks, or any other conduct which might
interfere with the enjoyment of the game is specifically prohibited by Law 74A. Law 91A gives
the director the authority to assess disciplinary penalties. This can include immediate disciplinary
board penalties, and if a future violation is incurred at the same event, disqualification from
future competition in that event. Any further violations may result in a disciplinary hearing
where player(s) future participation in tournaments will be considered.
English Bridge Union