SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n

The county newsletter for December 2019 has been added. It is under County News Page. To receive the newsletter directly please contact Bob Pitts

0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2019
Help make this website relevant.

We need your help to keep the website relevant. Please use the Contact Us facility (click here) to let us know news, results, forthcoming events etc. If you spot any errors or missing links, please also use the Contact Us facility.  Please be sure to include your name as anonymous emails will be automatically deleted. Many thanks.

Welcome to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association
  Lady Connell

Lady Connell

The Lady Connell and it consolation event, the Cheshire Salver, are knockout teams of four events, held in mutually agreed venues. The winners of the main event are invited to represent the county in the Pachabo Cup, an EBU national event for county champion teams.

The cost to enter is £24 per team, for which you are guaranteed at least two matches. Teams losing in the first round of the Lady Connell are automatically entered in the Cheshire Salver. EBU Green Points are awarded in the main event, and Black Points in the consolation event.

Entries should be emailed to Julian Merrill ( ) giving the names of team members, their EBU numbers and the captain’s contact details. You can have up to 6 players in your squad, although only four can play in each match.

Closing date for entries is 22rd September 2019 and the draw will be advised to Captain's by end September.

Last updated : 20th Aug 2019 17:27 BST
Liz Stevenson
Liz Stevenson

Many congratulations to Liz Stevenson who was presented with a prestigious Dimmie Fleming award at the EBU AGM on Wednesday.

The awards are made specifically to publicly recognise those who have worked hard promoting Bridge locally at County level.

The previous recipient from MCBA was Ted Reveley in 2011 and before him were the Herberts (Dawn and John) in 1998, Peter & Erica Slatcher in 1994 and Graham Kirby in 1991.


Waterworth Cup

Congratulations to Daniel Miller and Colin Humphrey on winning the Waterworth Cup, held at the Merseyside Bridge Centre.


Derbyshire Swiss Teams

Congratulations to David Stevenson, Liz Commins and Paddy Murphy (with a partner from Oxfordshire) on winning the Derbyshire Swiss Teams.


Jim Davies
Jim Davies

Congratulations to the winning team of Mark Weeks, Chris Pope, Alan Stephenson, Stuart Matthews in the Jim Davies Trophy held at the Deva. Second were Julian Merrill, Paul Roberts, Peter Hall, Dave Flacks. Third were Laurence Stone, David Smith, Stephen Lloyd, Peter Sumption. 13 teams took part. The team finishing third got the climbing prize for gaining the most places over the last two matches.


Cheshire Salver Update
Cheshire Salver Update

The final of the Cheshire Salver was played on June 12th 2019 between the teams captained by David Stevenson and Julian Merrill. Julian's team took an early lead but were overhauled during the second half of the match. Congratulations to the winning team of David Stevenson, Tracy Capal, Liz Commins and Paddy Murphy.


John Armstong Trophy
John Armstong Trophy

Congratulations to Barry Jones and Bob Pitts on winning the John Armstong Trophy held at the Deva.


Waterworth Cup
Waterworth Session1
Waterworth Session 2
Presidents Cup Overall
Director: Stuart & Adrian
John Armstrong
Director: David Stevenson
14th Dec 2019
Merseyside Cup
8th Feb 2020
Grattan Endicott Cup
8th Mar 2020
Eric Howarth Cup
17th May 2020
John Armstrong Trophy