London Metropolitan Bridge Association
Welcome to the NEW website

This is the NEW website. Please try it out and let us have any suggestions or comments. We recommend the use of Chrome or MS Edge rather than IE for best browsing experience.

The old one is still available at and can be consulted for past results, archival material and so on. 

Release 2.19n
Recent Updates
External Events Home Counties
13th Mar 2020 14:14 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020
Welcome to London Metropolitan Bridge Association
In Memoriam Bernard Teltscher

We are sad to report the death of  Bernard Teltscher, President of the London Metropolitan Bridge Association and sponsor, as well as winner of, the prestigious Lederer and Teltscher trophies.

EBU Chairman, Ian Payn said “Not only was Bernard a fine player, but also a great patron of the game he loved so much and played so well. He was President of the London Metropolitan Bridge Association and a deserved first recipient of the EBU’s Tony Priday Award. Our condolences to Bernard’s family and friends.”

More about him here: LMBA Spring 2009 Newsletter: Meet Bernard Teltscher.

LMBA - Bridge in Greater London
LMBA - Bridge in Greater London

We recommend the use of Chrome or MS Edge rather than IE for best browsing experience.

The LMBA (also called Metrobridge) is the county bridge association primarily serving Greater London. We complement the EBU in the provision of support services and assistance to our members and their bridge clubs.

We run county duplicate bridge tournaments for the benefit of our LMBA members. In addition, due to our unique position in the capital, we welcome many members of the adjoining Home County Bridge Associations to our events. We host 'prestige' International tournaments such as 'The Lederer'  .
We produce two copies of 'MetroNews' each year which details London-run events. We have a Youth Officer assisting the development of the game amongst our young players.
Membership of the LMBA entitles you to play in EBU tournaments, represent London in National events and have your say in how the EBU and LMBA are run.

Club TD courses coming up

Course information and full course calendar can be found here :

If anyone has any queries they should email Richard Banbury:

Delegates are welcome from both affiliated and non-affiliated clubs.  

Individuals can book online via the MyEBU page of the EBU website (and then Utilities/courses). Clubs can book on behalf of their members by emailing Richard Banbury (at the above address.



Congratulations to all the London members who played in the England
teams in the recent World Championships in Wuhan. They did very well indeed.

They were:

David Bakhshi, Artur Malinowski, Andrew Robson - Open team members who
reached the KO stages of the Bemuda Bowl and lost to a very strong USA team.

Heather Dhondy, David Gold (NPC), David Burn (Coach): Women's team who
won the bronze medal in the Venice Cup.

David Muller: Senior teams who won the silver medal in the d'Orsi Trophy.

21st April 2020
Cancelled - Cafe Bridge Tonsleys
The Alma Wandsworth 10.30 am
Host: Chris Duckworth (organiser)
 Click for more information
14th June 2020
CANCELLED!!! Fox Shammon Seniors Pairs
This event has been cancelled owing to the Coronavirus. We will be running it next year.
11th July 2020
London Congress Pairs
Young Chelsea Bridge Club 1 pm
Director: Jonathan Lillycrop
 Click for more information
Cancelled - Qualifier for the Garden Cities Trophy
Director: Jonathan Lillycrop
London Championship Pairs
Director: Jonathan Lillycrop
Lederer I