
Board of the Week 4 
By Dick Chapman 

There is no teaching value in today’s board, but I 
hope you enjoy the story. 

I have been playing bridge for 60 years (Aunt Millie 
told me I couldn’t go to college unless I knew how to 
play).  In all of these years, I have never seen a 7NT 
contract redoubled. 

I was playing in a BBO casual game with Kathy Gates 
as partner.  I picked up this nice hand: 

D: W 

V: EW 

♠AKQ 
♥Q75 
♦AK982 
♣A8 

 

West passes and Kathy opened 3 hearts.  I almost fell 
out of my chair.  4NT by me is easy enough.  Kathy 
calls 5 hearts to show 2 key cards without the queen 
of trump.  Count ‘em up, friends: I can claim 13 tricks 
without seeing the opening lead or dummy’s cards.  
7NT by me, pass, pass, double.  What?  My right hand 
opponent has doubled this contract???? 

If partner misclicked, I’m going down, but so what?  I 
won’t get this chance for 60 more years.  In for a 
penny, in for a pound: redouble.  The diamond queen 
was led and I claimed.  Here’s the full deal: 

 
♠10 
♥AKJ9842 
♦103 
♣1032 

 

♠J9653 
♥ 
♦QJ76 
♣Q976 

D: W 

V: EW 

♠8742 
♥1063 
♦54 
♣KJ54 

 
♠AKQ 
♥Q75 
♦AK982 
♣A8 

 

The opponents rejected the claim and made me play 
every…single…trick.  Sigh.  But for 2280 points, I’ll 
play it out. 

East’s double is my nominee for Worst Double in the 
History of Bridge.  Maybe the double was for takeout, 
ha ha.  But this is not the worst thing about the 
board.  To give you an idea of the strength of field in 
casual BBO play, the board was played 16 times and 
not one other pair bid the grand.  It’s elementary for 
anyone using Roman Key Card methods because with 
the known AK-seventh in hearts, anyone can count to 
13.  The traveler is shown in the next column: 

Contract Score + IMPS - IMPS 

7NTxx 2280 16.1  
6NT+1 1020 2.8  
6NT+1 1020 2.8  
6NT+1 1020 2.8  
6♥+1 1010 2.7  
6♥+1 1010 2.7  
6♥+1 1010 2.7  
6♥+1 1010 2.7  
6♥+1 1010 2.7  
6♥= 980 1.7  
6♥= 980 1.7  
3NT+4 520  8.1 
4♥+3 510  8.4 
5♥+2 510  8.4 
4♥+3 510  8.4 
4♥+3 510  8.4 

It’s usually wrong to double freely-bid slams (except 
for Lightner doubles when partner is on lead), but I 
did double 7NT one time.  At the club, the auction 
went 3NT on my right, 7NT on my left, pass, pass, 
double by me.  I’m on lead and hold the ace and king 
of diamonds.  It was quickly down 2 and “Oops, sorry 
partner.”  It seems opener was playing gambling 3NT 
and responder wasn’t.  But a redoubled NT grand?  
Never.  And never again, as this is a once-in-a-
lifetime experience. 

By the way, one frequently sees wild scores in casual 
BBO play, where some disgruntled or substance-
altered person bids 7NT holding 6 points, doubles a 
contract on nothing and gives up 4 or 5 vulnerable 
overtricks, or does something equally foolish.  This 
sort of behavior destroys the game because it makes a 
mockery of the traveler.  One way to combat this is 
Butler scoring.  In Butler, the top 10% and the bottom 
10% of scores are ignored, a datum is computed from 
the remaining scores, and IMPs are determined by 
comparison to the datum.  A wild score caused by 
deliberately bad play does not skew the IMPS at the 
other tables.  To my knowledge, no one uses Butler, 
but it works pretty well. 

Speaking of deliberately bad play, please note that in 
a competitive game, everyone must be trying to win, 
and intentional foolishness is subject to disciplinary 
action.  The Bridge Bulletin “Ruling the Game” 
column addressed this some years ago, when a 
correspondent asked about a pair who had agreed 
before the game to never take a bid (every call was 
going to be a pass, “just to see what happens.”)  This 
sort of behavior is highly detrimental to the game.  
That said, note that it is permissible to take an 
occasional flyer for strategic purposes.  As an 
example, you are having a bad game and shoot for a 
doubtful slam to try to get back in the rankings.  It 
may be overly risky, but it’s strategic and thus 
permitted. 


