## Stanley Trophy - Expert Pairs (Butler Scoring)



## **Brief History**

When the Leicester Bridge Circle was wound up in 1980 it donated one of its trophies, the Stanley Trophy, to the LCBA. The LCBA decided that an annual Swiss Teams competition should be held for this trophy. Entries were however rarely high and the event was usually played as Multiple Teams.

This competition was abandoned after the 95-96 season, and as there was then no suitable alternative use for a centrally run event it was agreed that the trophy be loaned to the Melton Charity competition. This loan continued for six years, during which period the engravings record the year of the congress and not, as is conventional, the year in which the season ends.

However in 2001 the LCBA began organising regular Butler Pairs events for County Standard pairs, both those currently selected and aspirant pairs. Starting with the 2001-02 season the Stanley Trophy is now awarded to the pair gaining the highest aggregate score in their best four heats.

	Original competition for Swiss Teams
1981	N Alton, E J F & Mrs D Primrose, Mrs E Elias
1982	Mrs D Wymer, Mrs P McLeod, D B Symonds, R Samani
1983	E J F Primrose, N Alton, Mrs E Elias, Mrs M Pote
1984	G Shaw, Mrs P Simpson, J Glover, Mrs G Jones
1985	D J Harriman, P A Brewer, I James, M J Mahoney
1986	P Connolly, B Deyal, R LEstrange, J R Hughes, D Houghton
1987	G A & Mrs B C Swann, M C & Mrs C G Jones
1988	K Forsyth, P Brewer, R Samani, D Russell, A K & L C Pathan
1989	P A & Mrs S Bowyer, A N Odams, J M Mason
1990	P A & Mrs S Bowyer, A N Odams, J M Mason
1991	W Hood, D Davis, L I Coe, B Deyal
1992	G A & Mrs B C Swann, M C & Mrs C G Jones
1993	P A & Mrs S Bowyer, A N Odams, J M Mason
1994	G A & Mrs B C Swann, M C & Mrs C G Jones
1995	R H Northage, W Livsey, L I Coe, B Deyal
1996	P A & Mrs S Bowyer, A N Odams, S J Stokes

	Transferred to Melton Charity Swiss Teams
1996	B D Gibson, I Rankin, A Warner, M W Osborne
1997	Mrs J Dearden, P Dearden, Mrs A Blackwell, Mrs P Emery
1998	Mrs S Osborne, Mrs B Gromitt, Mrs E Cooper, Mrs R Berrington
1999	Mrs E A Moncrief, M J Mahoney, G A & Mrs B C Swann
2000	C & Mrs E Davies, D Davies, T de la Montoya
2001	C & Mrs E Davies, R Taylor, D Jones
	Transferred to Expert Pairs competition with Butler Scoring
2002	A Langley & A K Pathan
2003	D Happer & N J Stevens
2004	H Cairns & G W Shaw
2005	P T White & B Thakrar
2006	J Grant & B Thakrar
2007	J Grant & B Thakrar
2008	I R Bruce & M J Mahoney
2009	W Hood & N J Stevens
2010	I R Bruce & M J Mahoney
2011	B & S Stockdale
2012	T Glover & P G Neville
2013	G Bucciero & R Cook
2014	A K & L C Pathan
2015	T Glover & P G Neville
2016	I R Bruce & M J Mahoney
2017	P G Halford & J G Milne
2018	J M Mason & B Norton
2019	A J Nichols & S J Stokes
2020	A K & L C Pathan

Information supplied by Robert Northage and prepared by John Wilcox. Photographer - Steve Wright