## LEICESTERSHIRE CONTRACT BRIDGE ASSOCIATON

## MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND PRESENTATIONS

Wednesday 12th June 2019 at 7.15 p.m.

## The Rothley Centre, 12 Mountsorrel Lane, ROTHLEY, LE7 7PR

Present: 46 persons.

- 1. Apologies for absence: were received from 21 persons.
- **2. Minutes of the 2018 AGM:** Dean Benton proposed that these be accepted. David Betterley seconded the proposal which was unanimously accepted.
- 3. Matters arising from the above which are not on this agenda: none.
- **4. Report of the Committee for the year 2018-2019:** the chairman David Pollard was delighted to report that the Dawes team had won the Midland Counties League Dawes Trophy a team photo with the trophy was taken at the meeting. In both the Porter and the Markham events the county's team had finished in 5<sup>th</sup> position.

The entries to the LCBA's competitions remained steady. It was pleasing to see more non expert players entering these events. 10 teams entered the Wilde cup whereas just 2 teams had taken part in the event two seasons ago. David announced that no further LCBA events would take place at the Greenfields Sports and Social club. The LCBA tables etc. stored there have been donated to the County BC for use at the new St Oswald's premises.

The EBU have launched a Membership Campaign as the overall membership is in decline.

The Education subcommittee has had a busy year. A forum is planned in September to which all Leicestershire clubs will be invited. It will be funded from the Education budget.

Leicestershire junior member Ben Norton continues to enjoy considerable success. He played in the EBU National Swiss teams event and got to the final of the EBU Pairs event.

David went on to report the sad loss of 14 members during the year. Included were Susan Bowyer of the Clarendon club, who had been actively involved as a player and a committee member over a long period of time, and Sylvia Horn another active player for many years, who most recently was a member of Blaby club, originally partnering her son and later represented the club in the League A team

The tournament TDs were thanked for their support of the LCBA events. John Thompson was thanked for his contribution to the LCBA committee as he retired from future office. He had worked as League Secretary for some years. Pat Beasley was also thanked for her contribution as General Secretary for the past 5 years. She will remain on the committee as Membership secretary. Henry Cooklin also retired after 31 years of service as he completed his 30<sup>th</sup> year as Treasurer during which time he ensured that the association operated well within its means.

5. Presentation by the Treasurer of the Statement of Accounts for the year 2018-2019 duly certified by an independent Financial Examiner: Richard Rees read Henry Cooklin's report to meeting. Henry apologised that he was unable to personally deliver his 30<sup>th</sup> and final Statement of Accounts. A loss of £995 had been incurred primarily as the final £604 of the cost and depreciation of the LCBA's set of Bridgemates had been written off. The income was also reduced by £289 due to a reduction of the EBU/LCBA active membership whereas the expenditure was slightly increased. The current bank balance is £8334. Steve Wright proposed that the accounts be accepted. Peter Halford seconded the proposal which was unanimously accepted.

- 6. Proposals from the outgoing Association Executive Committee:
  - a) That for 2020-2021, members playing at LCBA affiliated clubs, the LCBA P2P component remains at 8p
  - b) That for 2020-2021, EBU direct members and others not active in P2P sessions at LCBA affiliated clubs, the LCBA Membership subscription remains at £4.00 and there will be no charge for Juniors:

Richard Rees proposed that the above be accepted, seconded by David Betterley and unanimously accepted.

## 7. Election of Officers and other Association Executive Committee members:

OFFICE	NAME	PROPOSER	SECONDER
Chairman	Dean Benton	Neil Beasley	Dave Pollard
Vice Chairman	Vacant		
Immediate Past Chairman	Dave Pollard		
Treasurer	Richard Rees	Henry Cooklin	David Betterley
General & Minutes Sec.	Dave Pollard	Sandy Blades	Pat Beasley
League Secretary	John Wilcox	Steve Wright	Pat Beasley
Tournament Secretary	Neil Beasley	Keith Preston	Greta Cole
Fixture Secretary	Dick Pathan	Richard Rees	Phillip Watts
Membership Secretary	Pat Beasley	Keith Preston	Greta Cole
Education Liaison Sec.	Simon Stokes	Dave Pollard	John Thompson
Committee Member	David Betterley	Dave Pollard	Pat Beasley
Committee Member	Steve Wright	Richard Rees	John Wilcox
Committee Member	Vacant		

No vote was needed as no role was contested. David Pollard stated that it would be good to see more ladies as committee members. Anthea Byrne proposed that Howard Leigh should become a committee member. Lucy Pathan seconded the proposal which was unanimously accepted.

- **8.** Appointment of an Independent Financial Examiner for 2019 2020: Mayfield (Accountants) & Co. were unanimously appointed as the Financial Examiner for a further year.
- 9. Resolutions put forward by individual members none
- **10. Any other business:** John Milne suggested that the original club based heats of the Gimson Trophy event should be reinstated to boost entrance. Neil Beasley agreed to discuss the suggestion with his subcommittee members. John also commented on the rules restricting entry to the Stanley Trophy to 'experts'. It was explained that it has already been agreed that the rules for the event will be relaxed.
- 11. **Presentation of Trophies by Guest of Honour Robert Missenden of Ashby BC:** Robert expressed his pleasure at being invited to fulfil the role in this, the Ashby BC's 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary year.