
Matters Arising 74
being some thoughts prompted by hands played at Kendal BC 11 - 15 Apr 2022

Set Your Target

9 5 3
A 8 7
A 6 3 2
10 7 2

12
A 6
K J 4 2
- -
A Q J 9 6 5 4

Monday saw three Easts play board 12 in a club part-
score. With the contract clearly safe, "as many tricks as
possible" is declarer's target. How many is that on a
spade lead?

Our second spade can disappear on AD, and the fourth
heart ruffed, so the limit of the bad news seems to be a
heart loser and a club loser, though on a good day we'll
lose neither.

Win AS, cross to AH, cash AD discarding the spade and
then tackle trumps. Since we need a trump on table to
ruff a heart we won't worry about a 3−0 break, just lead
small and finesse the J. This loses to the K. Ruff the
spade continuation and cross to 10C for a heart lead
with intent to finesse. However North produces the Q
on the second heart, so up goes our K, followed by the J
and a heart ruff. Then it's clubs all the way. 12 tricks.

Q J 8 7 2
Q 9
K Q 9 5 4
8

9 5 3
A 8 7
A 6 3 2
10 7 2

12
A 6
K J 4 2
- -
A Q J 9 6 5 4

K 10 4
10 6 5 3
J 10 8 7
K 3

Only one declarer made 12 tricks. I fear I detect a love
of drawing trumps that blinded declarers to the
possibility of discarding their spade loser.

I said earlier that the limit of the bad news appears to be
two losers. If South holds Kxx C and QTxx H (or
similar) they can hold declarer to 10 tricks by returning
trumps whenever they gain the lead. 

Tick or Bust

This hand appeared on Monday with North declaring
our favourite game against a small heart lead. Perhaps
the bidding was 3D−3NT.

If the diamonds are no worse than 2−2 with the A
appearing on the first round, either by
necessity or dozy defence, then 3NT
succeeds thanks to 6 diamond tricks, 2
hearts and AC. Both defenders duly
follow to a diamond at trick 2, but the
A doesn'r appear. You are on table.
Now what?
Once the defence get in they will clear
the hearts ready to have fun next time
they regain the lead. And with one
defender having at least six hearts that
could be a lot of fun.

J 7 4 2
A K
6 5
A Q J 9 3

23
Q 6 5
- -
K Q J 8 7 4 2
10 6 2

Plan A: admit defeat.
Run 10C hoping to come to 5 club tricks, 2 hearts and a
diamond for one off.

Plan B: Play for West to hold Kx C.
Lead a small club and finesse, then lay down AC
hoping to crash K. If this succeeds the 10C is an entry
to table, so revert to diamonds and the contract makes.
If the finesse fails or KC doesn't come down, revert to
plan A, accepting you will additionally lose KC so will
only make 7 tricks.

Plan C: Play for singleton KC.
Knock out AD and win heart continuation. Lay down
AC hoping for K to tumble so that 10 becomes an entry.
If this fails you may end up with just the 4 tricks you
have already won.

J 7 4 2
A K
6 5
A Q J 9 3

A 10 8
J 9 8 7
9 3
K 7 5 4

23
K 9 3
Q 10 6 5 4 3 2
A 10
8

Q 6 5
- -
K Q J 8 7 4 2
10 6 2

On the night two declarers ended up with just 3 tricks.
That sounds like Plan D: play the defence for mugs -
knock out AD, win the heart continuation and hope the
defence will allow a small club to the 10 to win.



Finesse Against Partner

You hold KJx in a suit, partner leads small and dummy
hits with a small doubleton. What do you play? The K.
There is a temptation to keep his majesty for bigger fry
and send the J to war, effectively hoping that partner
has the Q and finessing against it. But if partner has the
Q then K, Q and J are worth the same so any can be
used. What you wish to avoid is allowing declarer to
win with the Q when partner has A 10. Hence the
mantra don't finesse against partner. 

There are no hard rules in bridge play worth having, and
the situation changes if your holding is AQx against a
NT contract. Now a small lead from partner with small
cards on the table draws the Q. A finesse against
partner's K. If the finesse works - partner has the K -
then A and small can follow. If the finesse fails declarer
can win with the K. Indeed declarer ia almost forced to
win with the K as they will be fearful that the A sits
over them which would have disastrous consequences
should they duck. If on the other hand you rise with the
A at trick one, then declarer can duck your Q at trick 2
in order to break defensive communications.

 Once dummy has an
honour deeper finesses
become attractive. Here is
the last hand from
Thursday's simultaneous
pairs, with West leading a
low club against 3NT,
and dummy contributing
the 3. The KC is surely a

winner now or later, but winning now gives dummy a
double stop in the suit. Partner has led so presumably
has some liking for the suit. Suppose they have both Q
and 10. Then our 9 is boss, so why not try it? If declarer
has one of the missing honours we were never going to
win more than the K quickly.

9 7 5 4
J 3
A J 5 2
A J 3

24
K 3 2
8 6 5
10 7 6
K 9 6 5

9 7 5 4
J 3
A J 5 2
A J 3

A 10 8
K 9 2
9 4 3
Q 10 7 4

24
K 3 2
8 6 5
10 7 6
K 9 6 5

Q J 6
A Q 10 7 4
K Q 8
8 2

The 9 holds, and on the 5 back partner produces the Q.
Declarer makes just one club trick. Equally importantly
the long club gets set up quickly so that when the heart
finesse fails the defence come to 3 clubs a heart and 2
spades. 2 down. Only one pair found this defence, and

they had the misfortune to be defending 1NT. Three
East's played KC at trick one, so that that the club suit
remained protected for declarer when they took the
losing heart finesse. The defence could only come to a
heart, a club and 2 spades before declarer romped home
on the back of red suit winners. One further East played
the 9C at trick one, but inexplicably their partner wasn't
prepared to dislodge the A at trick 2 - had declarer
really held off with the K at trick one?

I welcome any comments or queries sent me at
martyn@orpheusmail.co.uk  though they may be used
in future issues should I choose to produce such. Or
they may not. You have been warned. 

NB, I do try replying to mails raising a specific point, so
if I seem to ignore you do check your spam folder after
a day or three.

Martyn Harris
spadeilike on BBO
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