ANNUAL MEETING

UNIT 417

APRIL 3, 2024

President Marty York called the meeting to order. A brief description of the Unit Board as well as the Garden City Bridge Board was discussed. The Unit Board (the umbrella board) is responsible for planning and determining tournament opportunities as well as providing education through mentorship for our current members. The Unit Board differs from the Garden City Duplicate Bridge Board, which is responsible for marketing, education and attracting new members.

President York introduced current Unit Board Members:

John Brandeberry (resigned effective March 31,2024 and whose unexpired term was filled by the Board appointing Ron Sears), John Knudsen (term expired March 2024), Sharon Burman (term expired March 2024), George Stern, Marta York (Board appointed President since John Brandeberry's resignation), Barbara Berens and Marianne Moon (Secretary).

John Brandeberry handed out the McKinney Awards to 14 of our bridge club members. In addition, Janet Fiero was given the Good Will Ambassador Award. Many members of the club were recognized as contributing to our club efforts. The Directors were acknowledged and thanked for their ongoing service to all of us.

Barbara Berens gave a Treasurers Report. Income is produced through membership dues, tournaments, Saturday unit Games and a share of ACBL Membership dues. Expenses include Insurance, annual meeting expenses, special events, and contribution to the Garden City Duplicate Bridge Club. Our Total assets are \$7,592.77.

There were no Celebrations of Life this year!

Election of 2 new Board Members was held:

Jeanne Werner motioned, and Marianne Moon seconded that John Knudsen be elected to another 3-year term.

Trish Peterman motioned, and Sandy Meuchel seconded that Kay Hoag be elected to a 3-year term.

Both nominees were elected by unanimous vote. (The required number of board members were present to constitute a quorum).

Current Board Members:

Term 1: John Knudsen March 2024-2027

Term 2: Kay Hoag March 2024-2027

Term 3: George Stern March 2023-2026

Term 4: Marianne Moon, Secretary March 2023-2026

Term 5: Marta York, President March 2022-2025

Term 6: Ron Sears March 2024-2025

Treasurer: Barbara Berens

The Board will appoint a Vice President at its next meeting.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Marianne Moon, Secretary