Release 2.19n
Important Notices

If you think there is a problem with the website, please contact the ECBA Webmaster (click here) .   Any feedback is gratefully received.  Best wishes - Petra

General Data Protection Regulations

ECBA Privacy Statement

0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2020
EBU Gold Award 2007 Gerard Faulkner ECBA Life Members   Margaret Curtis
  2000 Margaret Curtis     Dick Green
             Jill Hair
EBU Silver Award 2011 Cecil Leighton     Tony Philpott
EBU Dimmie Fleming Award 2019 Bernie Hunt      
  2017 Audrey Hartley Good Friend of Essex Award 2014 Nick Hagan
  2013 Tony Philpott   2012 Jill Hair
  2001 Yvonne Dagwell   2011 Roger and Jill Tattersfield
  1999 Sid Prince   2011 Pat O'Gara 
  1993 Cecil Leighton   2011 Wendy Coldham
  1989 John and Gladys Morley   2010 Dick Green
  1987 Ray Knight   2006 Stella Shupick
  1987 George Curtis   2006 Betty Telford
  1986 Frank and Tricia Fletcher   2001 Ann Owen
  1986 Maurice and Teddy Schram   2001 Ray Knight
  1986 Charles Cuthbert   2000 Gerard Faulkner
         1999 Dennis Valtisiaris
EBU Life Members   Margaret Curtis   1998 Bernard and Doris Hammond
  2002 Gerard Faulkner   1997 Simon Suess
    Cecil Leighton   1996 Max Wolfe
          1995 Geoffery Mann
EBU Lifetime Achievement Award 2002 Gerard Faulkner   1995 Jill and Gilfrid Day
        1995 Ted Cockle
        1994 Rob Barker
        1994 Basil Carpenter
        1994 John Helliar
        1994 Bob Hair
        1994 Lionel Wernick
        1993 Yvonne Dagwell
        1992 George Phipps
        1991 Phyllis Spurling
EBU Awards - Dimmie Fleming 2017

Audrey Hartley


Dimmie Fleming Award citation - 2017

The 2017 AGM marked the end of an era in Essex Bridge with Audrey Hartley retiring as a member of the Committee as she enters her ninth decade. Aside from her administrative work, Audrey also represented England in the Lady Milne Trophy in 2008. Outside of Essex she has been instrumental in setting up two new clubs in London, based at the Young Chelsea.

On the ECBA Committee, she served a number of roles including Tournament Secretary and Secretary. The latter of these meant taking over from Margaret Curtis who had been Secretary for 55 years. She put her own stamp on the role including amendments to the constitution and setting up the disciplinary committee.

She has been an EBU shareholder and an Essex delegate since 2011, always attending the meetings and never afraid to speak up on behalf of the County.

Whist teaching mathematics at the King Edwards Grammar School, she set up the school Bridge club and is also a County Director, directing many county events over the years. She is the longest serving member at the Chelmsford Bridge Club.

The Essex Committee would like to see Audrey’s contribution to Bridge honoured by the EBU and wish to propose her for the Dimmie Fleming award in recognition of all the selfless work that she has put in over many years for Bridge in our County.

EBU Awards - Dimmie Fleming 2013
EBU Awards - Dimmie Fleming 2013

Tony Philpott has received a Dimmie Fleming award from the EBU. This award is made to members who have made a major contribution to bridge administration over many years at county level. Few such awards are made each year.

Tony has been a member of the association for over fifty years and following a successful national partnership with Bob Rowlands, during which time they won the National Pairs, Brighton Pairs and the Pachabo Cup (for Essex); Tony decided that family life was preferable to bridge at national level.  Since then he has won the main Essex competitions several times and has continuously played for the county 1st team. 

From 1975 until 2013 Tony has been the treasurer of the Essex association and more recently became the first Chairman of the 'Essex Selection committee'. (The association made a loss of £20 in his first year but he followed this with a surplus of £24 in his second year!). In addition Tony has always provided excellent advice to the committee on many matters.

Tony could not attend the annual general meeting of the EBU when the presentations are normally made but chose to receive his award at the Chelmsford Bridge Club. (see photo to the left, where Tony, to the right, is seen receiving his reward from John Williams, the then ECBA Chairman). The ECBA committee offer their heartiest congratulations to Tony and wish him all success in the future.