SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Individual BBO tournaments

The standard convention card for individual events as part of the Deva virtual club can be downloaded as a word document (click here) or as a web page (click here).

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Chester City Cup

The Chester City Cup is a single session pairs competition usually held on the third Monday in July.

The competition was instituted by David Wing in 2013 as part of a sponsored bicycle tour. David visited 51 locations across England, each of which has a cathedral (or famous church) and an EBU affiliated bridge club, to raise money for the Altzheimer's Society. At each bridge club a "City Cup" event took place competing for a trophy generously donated by David in the hope that this would become an annual event.

David's tour is featured on the EBU blogspot and includes a page for each city. The page for his visit to Chester (click here) shows him with chairman designate (president?) Fred Dixon and presenting the cup to the inaugural winners (Bob Sneddon and Terry Jones) along with a picture and some comments regarding the cathedral. I know nothing of his present whereabouts or wellbeing but I am sure he would be pleased to hear that the Chester City Cup is now an annual event.

Rules and procedure

The competition is played as a single-session, arrow-switched pairs competition. There is no need to book in advance or qualify.

Normal table money and sweep prizes apply with the winners (who must both be members of the club) being presented with the cup.

2019 competition

Congratulations to June and Peter Hulmes who are seen below being presented with the Chester City Cup by Club President Russ Whelan. For full results click here.

Previous winners
  • 2018: Philip Waring and Jean Hand
  • 2017: Bernard Farrell and Philip Waring
  • 2016: David Smith and Laurence Stone
  • 2015: Michael Pateman and Ronnie Thomson
  • 2014: Louise Orme and Myra Broad
  • 2013: Alan Sharples and Jim Cassin