SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Individual BBO tournaments

The link below will download the standard convention card to be used in individual events as part of the Deva virtual club:

Click here.

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Bob Graham Individual Trophy

Bob Graham was a long standing member and teacher at the Deva. He founded this competition in the mid 90s and also kept the club's original garden which is why the current garden is named after him. The Bob Graham Individual Trophy is (as the name implies) a competition based on individual results and has a single winner.

Rules and procedure

Qualification is based on the aggregate of all the %age scores achieved by people who play in the duplicate pairs sessions held on Tuesday evenings between September in one year and August in the following year. The 20 club members with the highest aggregate scores over the whole year qualify for the final. There is no need to register to enter but Jean Stelfox, our Principal Tournament Director, will check the availability of the top ranking 20 members and, if necessary, invite lower ranked members to fill in any gaps so that there are always 20 finalists.

The final consists of nineteen 1 board rounds with each finalist playing one round with each of the other finalists. There are no restrictions on systems but obviously you will need to agree your system quite quickly with each partner!

Table money for the final is £2.50 per player. The winner gets a cash prize of £10 with £8 for second place and £6 for third place.

2019/20 Competition

To see the qualifying table as it stands click here.

2018/19 competition

Congratulations to winner Robert Hunt, second-placed Simon Anderson and third-placed Annie Mead for their success in the Bob Graham Individual Trophy competition on Tuesday, 29th October. This fun competition takes the 20 top ranked players based on the aggregate of scores obtained in Tuesday sessions throughout the year (September to August). Each player plays 19 one board rounds paired with each of the other participants. The TD for the evening was Jean Stelfox.

To see the results in full click here.


Previous winners
  • 2017/18: Avril Thompson
  • 2016/17: Mike Buckley
  • 2015/16: Annie Mead
  • 2014/15: Irena Emberson
  • 2013/14: Janet Bate
  • 2012/13: Kate Beckett
  • 2011/12: Louise Orme
  • 2010/11: Mary Palin
  • 2009/10: M Edwards
  • 2008/9: Arnold Pennant