SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Bridge lessons and practice sessions

The Deva Bridge Club provides many opportunities for players to learn to play bridge or to improve their game including beginners lessons, improvers lessons, supervised play sessions and gentle duplicate.

For more details click on Lessons and Practice Sessions in the menu.

You can also check the calendar to see dates and times. (Lessons and practice sessions are shown in green.)

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Chester Bowl

The Chester Bowl is a charity event held every year in favour of a charity nominated by the Club President.

It is usually held on a Sunday in October and the winners' names are engraved on the Chester Bowl trophy.

Rules and procedure

The Chester Bowl is run as two match-pointed pairs sessions on the same day - a qualifying session followed by a meal break after which qualifying pairs will play in the final and non-qualifying pairs will play in a consolation competition.

Initial seating will be by a random draw on arrival. The final will be a 7 table full Howell consisting of 13 x 2 board rounds.

Entry (which must be pre-booked) is open to all EBU and WBU members.

2019 Competition

The 2019 Chester Bowl will be held on Sunday 20th October in favour of The Hospice of the Good Shepherd.

The entry fee is £16 per person with a meal available for an additional £12.75 per person. Participants must book in advance and the entry form is available by clicking here.

For further information please contact Jean Stelfox.


2018 competition

The 2018 Chester Bowl was held on Sunday 14th October. National Tournament Director David Stevenson presided over a full house of forty pairs.

The results from the final can be seeen by clicking here.

The winners, Mark Weeks and Stuart Mathews, are seen here holding the trophy.


Keith Boulton and Nigel Pearce finished second.


Russ Whelan presented the consoilation winners, Linda Smith and Michael Tomlinson with their prize.


Russ also presented the consolation runners-up prize to John Griffith and Joan King.

Previous winners
  • 2017: Laurence Stone and Peter Hall
  • 2016: Paul Holt and Peter Sumption
  • 2015: David Flacks and Laurence Stone
  • 2014: Julian Merrill and Paul Roberts
  • 2013: Barry and Beth Wennell
  • 2012: Angus Clark and George Eakin
  • 2011: Ian Kane and Ken Hassell
  • 2010: David Flacks and Julian Merrill
  • 2009: Joy and Irving Blakey