SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Individual BBO tournaments

The standard convention card for individual events as part of the Deva virtual club can be downloaded as a word document (click here) or as a web page (click here).

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Deva Bridge Club Pairs Championship

The Deva Bridge Club's Pairs Championship is the "Blue Riband" event in the club's calendar hotly contested by both established and newly formed pairs with the winners taking pride of place on the club's honours boards and being presented with an impressive trophy.

Rules and procedure

There are seven qualifying rounds played, whenever possible, on the evening of the 4th Wednesday each month starting in September. Each pair's best 4 results (in terms of percentages not match points) determine their ranking in the qualification table with the 14 highest ranked pairs qualifying for the final. After the first round pairs are seated according to their ranking in the qualification table (odd NS and even EW). Visitors are welcome to play in the qualifying rounds but cannot qualify for the final.

20% of each pair's qualifying score is carried over to the final (on Friday 17th March) which is played as a seven table full Howell with thirteen 2 board rounds. The overall competition results are determined by adding the match points scored on the night to the 20% of the qualifying score (made up of %ages) that is carried forward so that the winners on the night will not necessarily be crowned champions.

District points are awarded in the qualifying rounds and blue points in the final. Table money is £2.50 per player in the qualifying rounds but there is no table money in the final. There is no sweep prize in the final but the winners share a prize of £60 with £40 for the runners up and £20 for third place.

2019/20 Competition

To view the table for the qualifying rounds click here.

2018/19 competition

The 2018/19 final was held on Wednesday 20th March.

The results of the final can be seen by clicking here and the result after carry forward here. To view the final table for the qualifying rounds click here.

Congratulations to Peter Hall and Laurence Stone seen holding the trophy and flanked by second place pair Chris Pope and Andy Prothero and third place pair Stephen Lloyd and David Smith.


The full cast of finalists.

Previous winners
  • 2018/19: Peter Hall and Laurence Stone
  • 2017/18: Andy Prothero and Chris Pope
  • 2016/17: Di Knight and Peter Nickson
  • 2015/16: Di Knight and Peter Nickson
  • 2014/15: Andy Prothero and Chris Pope
  • 2013/14: Frank Salt and Jim Stambridge
  • 2012/13: Matt Foster and John Hampson
  • 2011/12: Bob Pitts and Simon Whitehouse
  • 2010/11: Julian Merrill and Richard Alcock