SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Individual BBO tournaments

The standard convention card for individual events as part of the Deva virtual club can be downloaded as a word document (click here) or as a web page (click here).

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Men's Pairs Championship

The annual Men's Pairs Championship is run as a single session event at the same time as the Ladies' Pairs Championship. The two events are held towards the end of April each year. In even numbered years on the 4th Thursday and in odd numbered years on the 4th Tuesday.


Both events are run as arrow switched pairs tournaments with the men at the North end of the room and the ladies sitting at the South end.

The table money is £2.50 per person. Visitors may participate for an extra £1 but only pairs of club members are eligible for the prizes which are as follows:

  • The winning pair (in addition to being presented with the trophy) share a cash prize of £12
  • The second placed pair share £8 and
  • The third placed pair share £4.
2019 competition

The 2019 Men's Pairs Championship was held on 16th April. Click here to see the results.

Brian Crawford and Frank McAleavy display their prize and trophy for the men's pairs.


Colin Humphreys and Danny Miller finished in a tie for secind place with Ashley Rogers and Roy Clifford.

Previous winners
  • 2018: Frank McAleavy and Brian Crawford
  • 2017: Stuart Matthews and Mark Weeks
  • 2016: Mike Buckley and Ron Walster
  • 2015: Paul Holt and Peter Sumption
  • 2014: Brian Crawford and Jeff Angove
  • 2013: Paul Roberts and Julian Merrill
  • 2012: Peter Nickson and Haydn Roberts
  • 2011: Peter Wright and John Burke
  • 2010: Peter Nickson and Brian Crawford