SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Individual BBO tournaments

The standard convention card for individual events as part of the Deva virtual club can be downloaded as a word document (click here) or as a web page (click here).

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Ladies' Pairs Championship

The annual Ladies' Pairs Championship is run as a single session event at the same time as the Men's Pairs Championship. The two events are held towards the end of April each year. In even numbered years on the 4th Thursday and in odd numbered years on the 4th Tuesday.

Rules and procedure

Both events are run as arrow switched pairs tournaments with the ladies at the South end of the room and the men sitting at the North end.

The table money is £2.50 per person. Visitors may participate for an extra £1 but only pairs of club members are eligible for the prizes which are as follows:

  • The winning pair (in addition to being presented with the trophy) share a cash prize of £12
  • The second placed pair share £8 and
  • The third placed pair share £4.
2019 competition

The 2019 Ladies' Pairs Championship was held on 16th April. Click here to see the results.

The winning ladies pair, Jean Hand and Mo Borley, are flanked by AvrilThompson and Joan Marray, who finished second and Clare Blake who finished third playing with Fiona Spencer (not pictured).

Previous winners
  • 2018: Clare Blake and Pat Pulford
  • 2017: Sheila Shea and Margaret Barnes
  • 2016: June Hulmes and Anne Dodd
  • 2015: Shirley Webster and Pam Edwards
  • 2014: Cath Johnson and Clare Blake
  • 2013: Annie Mead and Julie Halford
  • 2012: Christine O'Dell and Joan Dodd
  • 2011: Avril Thompson and Joan Marray
  • 2010: Mo Borley and Mo Thompson