SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Simple systems and individual tournaments

There is no set system for Simple Systems sessions on BBO but please click here for the club's guidance.

You can use the club's standard system for individual events on BBO which can be downloaded as a word document (click here) or viewed as a web page (click here).

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Fearn Cup

Wilf and Julie Fearn were founder members of the Deva Bridge Club. Wilf was the club's Chief Tournament Director and a member of the EBU's Rules and Ethics Committee. They donated the Fearn Cup as the trophy for the club's individual championship and it remains the club's most prestigious individual competition with the holder's name being recorded on the honours boards.

Rules and procedure

The game of contract bridge cannot be played without a partner so most competitions are for pairs or teams made up of several pairs. The Fearn Cup therefore rewards the individual who does best when playing with a variety of partners. Like most of the club championships there is a qualifying competition and a final. The qualifying rounds consist of match pointed pairs events held on six Saturdays between September and March. Qualification for the final is based on aggregated percentages in three of these sessions each played with a different partner with the top 20 aggregated percentages qualifying for the final. If insufficient numbers then those playing with two different partners may be invited

In the final each player plays two boards with every other player so that there are 19 two board rounds played over two sessions all using a simplified convention card.

2019/20 Competition

The 2019/2020 final was held on BBO (on June 14th) as the club is currently closed because of coronavirus. 20 qualifiers played 19 boards. The overall winner was Vanessa James and her name will be engraved on the trophy board. 2nd to 5th positions were Mark Thompson, Jean Hand, Daniel Miller and Joan Webb respectively. The top 7 places were as follows:

Pos No Player Match
1 12
Vanessa James
93 61.18 21
2 20
Mark Thompson
89 58.55 18
3= 2
Jean Hand
85 55.92 14
3= 3
Daniel Miller
85 55.92 14
5 13
Joan Webb
82 53.95 9
6= 8
Sally Banks
81 53.29 6
6= 14
Jane Baker-Jones
81 53.29 6


Click here to see full results.To view the table for the qualifying rounds click here.

2018/19 competition

The final of the 2018/19 Fearn Cup competition was played on 7th April. Click here to see the results.

Congratulations to Philip Waring, winner of the 2019 Fearn Cup, seen here being presented with the trophy by Club President Russ Whelan along with Jim Stambridge (who finished third), Mark Thompson (fourth), Kate Beckett (fifth) and Mary Palin (second).

Past winners
  • 2019/20: Vanessa James
  • 2018/19: Philip Waring
  • 2017/18: George Horton
  • 2016/17: Frank Salt
  • 2015/16: Jim Stambridge
  • 2014/15: Jim Stambridge
  • 2013/14: Frank Salt
  • 2012/13: Frank Salt
  • 2011/12: Jim Stambridge
  • 2010/11: Janet Joynson