SpadeHeart  DiamondClub
Release 2.19n
Bridge lessons and practice sessions

The Deva Bridge Club provides many opportunities for players to learn to play bridge or to improve their game including beginners lessons, improvers lessons, supervised play sessions and gentle duplicate.

For more details click on Lessons and Practice Sessions in the menu.

You can also check the calendar to see dates and times. (Lessons and practice sessions are shown in green.)

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Christmas and New Year closures

There are Christmas/New Year breaks in all of our programmes of learning and play as follows:

  • The club will be closed on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Eve
  • Monday's Supervised Social Play will finish on 9th December and resume on 6th January
  • Tuesday Simple Systems will finish on 17th December and resume on 7th January
  • The Wednesday Afternoon Pairs scheduled for New Year's Day may go ahead if enough people sign up on the sheet in the lobby
  • Thursday lessons will finish on 12th December and resume on 2nd January and
  • Friday Improvers will finish on 20th December and resume on 3rd January.
2020 Chester Congress

The Deva Bridge club is pleased to announce that the Chester Congress will be taking place in January 2020.  On Saturday 25th January there will be the Capel Cup pairs competition.  On Sunday 26th January the Latham Knox Trophy, a Swiss teams event, will take place.  There will be 2 sessions on each day starting at 12 noon.  Blue points and cash prizes will be awarded on both days.  Entry fee is £16.00 per day (£30.00 if registering for both days).  Meals can be booked for £14 per day or you may bring your own food.

See under Competitions in the menu for more details and entry form or contact Congress organiser Jean Hand.

County success

Congratulations to Daniel Miller and Colin Humphrey on winning the Waterworth Cup (the county's annual green-pointed pairs event) which was held on Saturday 9th November. The event was dominated by Deva members with Julian Merrill and Paul Roberts coming second.

Both pairs qualify to play in the Corwen Trophy which is the EBU's competition for the leading pairs from each county.

Swiss (Re)Pairs
Swiss (Re)Pairs

Following the success of the Deva's first Swiss Pairs a second event will be held on Wednesday 11th December (6.45 for a prompt 7 pm start). If you would like to play please contact Laurence Stone so that he has some idea of numbers.

M&CBA events

The Waterworth Cup (green-pointed championship pairs) will be held on Saturday 9th November at 1 pm - contact Chris Raymond.

The Merseyside Cup (intermediate level teams of four) takes place on Saturday 14th December at 1 pm - contact Laurence Stone.

Both events are at the Merseyside Bridge Centre. Click here for nore details on the M&CBA website.

Bob Graham Individual Trophy
Bob Graham Individual Trophy

Congratulations to winner Robert Hunt, second-placed Simon Anderson and third-placed Annie Mead for their success in the Bob Graham Individual Trophy competition on Tuesday, 29th October.

For results and further details see the appropriate page under Competitions in the menu.

Chester Bowl
Chester Bowl

Congratulations to Rhona Goldenfield and Mark Weeks, winners of the 2019 Chester Bowl.  They are seen here with runners-up Sue Fjortoft and Nick Woodcock.  Tournament Director for the day was James Vickers.

All profits from the day went to the President's chosen charity, the Hospice of the Good Shepherd. For more details see the appropriate page under Competitions i9n the menu.

70th anniversary celebration

The club will be celebrating its 70th anniversary on Sunday 3rd November click here for details.

Championship Teams

The 2019/20 Championship Teams competition starts on the evening of Wednesday 9th October and runs over four Wednesday evenings culminating in the final on 1st April (yes, I know...) 2020. Teams can be a lot of fun so why not get together with your friends and enter?

Further details can be found under Competitions in the menu and the dates are on the calendar.

Your Teams League needs you!

Graham Campbell has recently taken over the running of the Deva Teams League and Cup competitions (for which many thanks) and is trying to recruit new teams and team members.

The league fixtures usually take place once or twice a month on Thursdays from September round to May and can be a great way to experience a different take on the game we all know and love.

Graham is currently having to revisit the schedule due to some teams losing members or dropping out so, if you would like to give teams bridge a try or just want more information, please email

Sat 14th December 2019
Merseyside Cup - at Merseyside Bridge Centre
1 pm
Teams of 4 - contact Laurence Stone ( to enter.
Mon 16th December 2019
Monday Pairs
7 pm
Director: Hannah Gleave
Host: Sally Banks
Tue 17th December 2019
Tuesday Simple Systems
10 am
Tue 17th December 2019
Tuesday Pairs
7 pm
Director: Nick Mayfield
Host: Julie Halford
Wed 18th December 2019
Wednesday Afternoon Pairs
1.15 pm
Director: Ashley Rogers
Wed 18th December 2019
Championship Pairs - Round 5
7 pm
Director: Jean Stelfox
Thu 19th December 2019
Thursday Pairs
7 pm
Director: Roy Clifford
Host: Miles Arnot
Saturday Pairs
Director: John Dawe
Thursday Pairs
Director: Bill Davies
Wednesday Afternoon Pairs
Director: Mike Pateman/Miles Arnot
Host: Norma Miles
Swiss Pairs
Director: Laurence Stone
Scorer: David Smith
Tuesday Pairs
Director: Paul Holt
Host: Stephen O'Brien
Tuesday Simple Systems