Social Bridge sessions
Social Bridge sessions
Derbyshire Contract Bridge Association
Derbyshire Contract Bridge Association
  • Promotes Contract Bridge in the Derbyshire Area.
  • Affiliated to the English Bridge Union.
  • Runs many County based events during each year including 6 teams-of eight leagues.
  • Most DCBA County Events are held on Wednesday evenings at The Old School, Spondon.  There is bridge most days of the week at The Old School,  Spondon click here to see.
  • Touch the 'Useful Links' Button to get to the websites of various DCBA Clubs
Release 2.19q
Welcome to Derbyshire Contract Bridge Association

Derbyshire CBA are hosting Two One Day Green Pointed Swiss Pair Events in 2024 on Sunday’s - 19th May & 20th October Start 1 pm 7 x7 board Matches 

1:00 pm Session 1 - 4x7 Boards
4.30pm (approx) - Tea interval – see below

5:15 pm Session 2    3x7 Boards

8:00 pm (approx)     Results and Presentation of Prizes

Green Points to EBU Scales (1/4 point per match won or drawn plus ranking awards) these will be directly credited and EBU numbers must be supplied with entry form. Prizes awarded to top 3 pairs.

Free on site car parking 4 ½ miles from J25 M1  Map available (via Information Tab)  – Venue has Facilities for disabled. 
Refreshments are not included in entry fee, venue offers various filled sandwiches/rolls & homemade cakes for sale at the bar (Players are welcome to bring your own food for consumption during the tea break).

Entry fee – £40 per pair  (Juniors under 25 - half price)
All enquiries to: Jim Parker DCBA Secretary 07980716894
Entry forms to Event co-ordinator Clare Batten 07715 561889 (click header for entry form) or submit your details below via website


The following DCBA Committee positions become vacant at our AGM on 2nd May (7:30 @ Spondon)

If you wish to volunteer for any of following positions, please register your interest with the web form below.

Chairman. Secretary, Treasurer, Masterpoints/Membership Sec, Webmaster, Chair of Conduct & Disciplinary Committee, Teaching/Development Sec please enter position you want to volunteer for in the comments box

DCBA Inter-Club T of 4 KO (DITKO)


Derby A v Derby B (Won by Derby A)

BR C v BR B - BRC Withdrew so BRB go through to final to play Derby A

DITKO Plate – Semi  final

Ringwood A v Bakewell A - Won by Bakewell

EM A v Ripley B

Matches to be played by 11th April, please contact your opposition team and arrange your match ASAP!

Club Contact Details:

Allestree 1 team
A Team Captain Stephen Read
01332 832051

BR 3 teams

A Team Captain Amanda Sowter
07812 369243

B Team Captain Mary Marshall

01335 360582 or 07815 541513

C Team Captain Jim Parker

07980 716894

Derby 4 Teams

A team Captain John Griffin
01332  204054

B Team Captain Malcolm Young
01332 559820

C Team Captain Janet Jaques
07939 876009 
D Team Captain Derek Turner


EM 2 Teams
A Captain Mike Douglas
07925 009598
B team Captain David Taylor
07908 861333
Ripley 2 Teams
A Team Captain Alan Kenny
07534 205 906
B Team Captain Alastair McCance
07500 976475

Ringwood 2 teams
A Team Captain Clive Case

07923 385247 
B Team Captain George Nash

07938 597077
Bakewell 1 team (Plate only)

A Team Captain Stuart Sutton

07803 928049 

The knockout events will run through to a main final and consultation final (All 1st time losers, including any teams having a bye in round 1 and losing in round 2 are invited to participate in the Consolation Plate event. The Jamboree event was won by BRA (see results section for further details)

Teams playing at Spondon to pay DCBA £18 each towards table hire and completion fees, matches played elsewhere need teams to agree table fees due and both teams to pay DCBA £6 each to cover competition fees.

Current Trophy Winners
Summer Swiss (BR Trophy): Team Madden 
Winter Swiss (Eric White): Paul Madden, Cedric Cockcroft, Alex Hogg, Peter Kelly, Steve Cave & Jack Lawrence  (Winter Plate) Jim Parker, Judy Lomas, Sue Birch, Pravin Tailor, Maggie Beal (Secretary’s Cup) Jeff Teece, Jeanne Musson, Wallace Bryce, Mary Styles, Mary Cater, Steve Lemmings
Brigden: John Griffin, Roger Mallinson, Paul Madden and John Squibb        
India Cup: John Griffin, Roger Mallinson, David & Mary Marshall
Mixed Teams: Bethany Madden, David Briggs, Alex Hogg and Paul Madden
Vic Morris: Jim Parker, Pravin Tailor, Mike Douglas, Paul Knighton
VM PlatePaul Madden, John Squibb, Bethany Madden, Alex Hogg David Briggs
County Pairs: John Griffin & Malcolm Young
John Armstrong Trophy : John and Amanda Sowter
Atkins Cup: Richard Edwards and Pravin Tailor
Hazel Whinfrey Plate:  Roy Fey & Wallace Bryce  
medley Salve
r: John Griffin and Roger Mallinson   
Invitation Pairs: J Griffin & M Young
Bill Pratt Trophy: John Griffin & Maggie Beale
Lady’s Pairs: Amanda Sowter & Judy Langworthy           Men’s Pairs: Janusz Adamowicz & Roman Gembick                   
Gerry Fletcher Cup: Ian Blake
Brigden 2023

Final - Madden v Edwards

Plate semifinals

Marshall v Horsley

Taylor v Reid (won by 18 imps by team Taylor)

Matches to be played by end of April

Teaching classes

Various clubs are running classes and supervised play sessions.  If you know someone who might like to learn please pass on the details  Click on box on the main menu for more information




Summer Swiss Teams Round 2
Summer Swiss Teams week one
Bill Pratt Trophy - Mixed Pairs
T of 8 Match Overall
Play with a County Player round 3
Winter Swiss Final Round
1st May 2024
Summer Swiss Teams 3
2nd May 2024
8th May 2024
Vic Morris Cup Round 3 - Plate Round 2
15th May 2024
Summer Pairs - Smedley Salver week 1
Spondon 18:55
19th May 2024
Green Point -Swiss Pairs
Spondon 12:55
22nd May 2024
Summer Swiss Teams 4