Clontarf Bridge Club
Release 2.19p
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2022

 Upcoming events 

1  DNR Sunday Game at 15.00

2. CAVBC has gone International. We will have a team match against Tyler Hill Bridge Club, Canterbury, Kent on Feb 2nd. If interested in taking part contact Dan. Full details on CAVBC

3. Draw for Partner game on Monday 24th at 19.30. You can now enter on CAVBC.

4. Individual game on Saturday 29th at 19.30



BBO Guides

Please view the "All BBO Information" Tab on the Menu bar for crucial guidance on:

  • CBAI has circulated a document regarding cheating on BBO they have asked that all our members playing Bridge on line read this document  Link
  • Guidlines in Relation to Slow Play     Link
  • Best Practices while playing on BBO CAVBC Tournaments
  • BBO Guides to help you get started and improve your experience on BBO
Sitout Subs Open Game and Novice
Thank You

A big thank you to Dan and  Aidan for organising all our games throughout  the year and for their availability for sorting out problems as they arose . Thanks to Orla for all the work in keeping the CAVBC site informative and supporting  our members. 

Covid 19
Covid 19
Welcome to Clontarf Bridge Club

Welcome to you all from the Clontarf Bridge Club 2021/2022 from our President 

Club President :  Fintan Keegan

Hon Secretary:  Olive Smith

Hon Treasurer: Blathnaid O Farrell

Ex Officio: Myra Birmingham Committee members: Nora Gallagher, Alan Gordon, Bernadette Lacey, Irene Foley, Bernie Magee and

Owen Wilson (Covid Officer)


The club is currently closed for face-to-face bridge.  We are enjoying online bridge with CAVBC but please do check in here regularly for latest news.  We love to hear from you all so please keep in touch.  Contact us at

Christmas Greetings and update from our new President

December 2021

Dear Members,


Greetings to all members of our club, I hope you are keeping well. 

Thank you to Myra and the committee who took us through 2020-2021, they did a great job in circumstances that none of us ever could have imagined.   In September 2021 we had our AGM, the officers and committee members selected were as follows:

Club president Fintan Keegan, Hon Secretary Olive Smyth, Hon Treasurer Blathnaid Farrell,  Ex Offico Myra Birmingham, Committee Members; Irene Foley, Nora Gallagher, Bernadette Lacey, Alan Gordon, Owen Wilson and Bernie Magee.

Many of you are feeling disappointed at not being able to play together and meet old friends.  We all recognise that safety takes priority during the pandemic.  There is some comfort in playing bridge online.  

If you can please try and keep up to date with the clubs’ news by viewing our websites Clontarf Bridge Club and Clontarf Area Virtual Bridge Club.  If you were thinking about playing bridge on line (BBO) but have been hesitant, maybe you have a dread of computers, perhaps we can help you.  There are fellow members and friends who could help set up BBO, or we could facilitate it by talking to one of your family members.  

One of the clubs main priorities is get back playing face to face bridge but only in a safe environment.  It is unfortunately that 2021 intends to finish the same way as 2020.  As you know our schools are suffering from the Covid challenge, St Pauls School is no different and returning to our old venue is proving difficult, not before mid-next year.  Even the longer term strategy of finding a venue is demanding.  This is a challenge our committee are trying to resolve, along with other clubs. 

Due to the ongoing circumstance and restrictions we have again decided to pay the individual CBAI fee of €10 for each member from our funds.

Also and keeping with last year, we are again delighted to be able to contribute to St Frances Hospice in Raheny for Christmas. Along with a donation from our club we also obtained Christmas cards with a push out star to hang up on your tree, to remember those who are not with us.

On behalf of Clontarf Bridge Club a very happy Christmas and let’s hope we get to see each other in the New Year.


Fintan Keegan



Happy New Year
Happy New Year
CAVBC/DNR BBO SCHEDULE 24th Jan- 30th Jan '22

ABBO->Competitive->All Tournaments->Pending Tournaments.

Search for the word CBAI or Clontarf or Foxbay or DNR.

Registration from 2 hours before start time



Monday 24th Jan



Draw for Partners Rona

Tuesday 25th


  Open TD Bernadette

Wednesday  26th       




Open          TD  Mary

Thursday  27th




Open Orla/Vanessa


Friday 28th


Saturday 29th


Sunday 30th









Individual Competition 




Thank you to our outgoing President


Presentation of flowers to Myra Birmingham by Owen Wilson 

The Club wanted to thank Myra for the great work she did during her Presidency           

encouraging members to play online and keeping in touch during difficult times.


Clontarf Bridge Club Calendar On Hold - See CAVBC Schedule above for Online Bridge