Release 2.19p
Address of this website

President — Mary Blundell

REMOVE: never

Your Committee

Chairman — Gavin Wilson 

Treasurer — Rowena Austin 📧

Secretary — Fay D'Abo

Membership — Pauline Harris 📧

Refreshments  Julie Minards 📧

Refreshments  Vicky Bevan 📧

REMOVE: never
The Director team

The Director team comprises:

  • Rowena Austin
  • Gavin Wilson
REMOVE: never
The Scorer team

The Scoring Team comprises:

  • Gavin Wilson

REMOVE: never

Claygate now uses a wireless scoring system called BridgePal, which runs on smartphones and tablets.  The implementation team today consists of Gavin Wilson and Carol Wildig, but more volunteers are very welcome.  We will provide as much help and training as each North needs to enter the scores into the handset.

Further information about BridgePal can be found here.

AGM 13th March 2017
Minutes of the Club AGM of 13th March 2017

If you have any amendments or additions to suggest, please email the Secretary,, sooner rather than later.  In particular, we are aware that we did not capture a perfect record of who proposed and seconded each motion.

Many thanks

Kay W

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Claygate Bridge Club, 13th March 2017

President (in attendance)

  • Mrs June Buckland — (JB)

Committee (all present)

  • Mr Tony Baker — Deputy Chairman (TB)
  • Mrs Wendy Stainer — Secretary (WS)
  • Mr David Rotherham — Treasurer (DR)
  • Mrs Yvette Barton — Refreshments Officer (YB)

0. Prologue

TB explained the circumstances in which he would be chairing the AGM.

1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Frances Allwork, Betty Bueno, Julie Gardiner, Judy Reilly and others.

2. Minutes of the AGM 18th April 2016 and Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Matters arising from the AGM Minutes of 18th April 2016

Adoption was proposed by Nigel Barnes, and seconded by Phil Chan. Approved nem con.

4. Chairman’s Report

The chairman's report was presented posthumously in written form. In summary:

The Club had been on the verge of being wound up, due in part to the threat of legal action by a member. Due to the committee's diligence, the threat has passed. A revised constitution was approved to enable every aspect of the Club's operations to be worked on by the committee. The Club has been returned to its former strength. The new committee should have no problem in continuing the good work. The number of volunteer directors and scorers needs to increase. Compulsory host duty has been re-introduced. All Club volunteers should be thanked.

5. Treasurer’s Report

DR had circulated a copy of the Club accounts and there was a copy on every table for members to peruse.

In his spoken report DR said that membership levels remained good at around 100 members, with over 13 tables per session on average since the New Year. Once outstanding deductions were implemented, the Club had a cash balance of around £6,000, which meant that the committee had been able to reduce the table money charge for members to £2. If the increase in table numbers continues, the Club should break even or run a slight surplus in 2017. There had been an increase in payments to the EBU in 2016, due to errors in 2015 (now rectified) when there were problems in submitting results to the EBU.

Adoption of the Treasurer's Report was proposed by Nigel Barnes, and seconded by Phil Chan. Approved nem con.

6. Approval of Audited Accounts

Adoption of the Audited Accounts was proposed by Nigel Barnes, and seconded by Phil Chan. Approved nem con.

7. Honorary Auditor — request for volunteer

John McKimmie agreed to become the Club's new honorary auditor.

Proposed by Nigel Barnes, and seconded by Phil Chan. Approved nem con.

8. Secretary's Report

WS spoke glowingly about the Club's former chairman, Jaime Bueno. Along with his wife Betty, he had, for many years been a driving force at the Club. His illness had prevented him from taking an active role in recent weeks, but he will be greatly missed. WS said she felt sure members would join her in extending their best wishes to Betty and the family at this sad time. She quoted many loving tributes to him from fellow bridge players, and provided a personal memory of her partnership with Jaime: when she made a mistake in the bidding, he would suggest "Back to the book, Wendy", a reference to Ron Klinger’s book, 'When to Bid, When to Pass' . WS also relayed a message of thanks to everyone from Betty for the flowers, cards and good wishes.

9. Prize giving on Competitions

The president, June Buckland, presented trophies as follows:

  • Teams of 4 (arranged pairs) qualifying for Wanborough Cup: Nigel Barnes, John McKimmie, Jacqui Joseph and Kathryn McKimmie.
  • Random Teams: Mike Mulligan, Sue Jackson, Mary Blundell and Yvette Barton.
  • Club Championships: Jaime and Betty Bueno. (Runners-up: Vida Smith and June Retter)
  • Victor Ludorum: Nigel Barnes

10. Election by vote of New Committee

With the exception of Yvette Barton, all committee members either had died or were retiring from office. The following candidates were elected:

Gavin Wilson, candidate for CLUB CHAIRMAN

  • Proposed by Yvette Barton
  • Seconded by Muriel Hodder
    • Approved. Kay O'Gorman asked for it to be minuted that she had voted against.

Muriel Hodder, candidate for CLUB TREASURER

  • Proposed by Yvette Barton
  • Seconded by June Buckland
    • Approved nem con.

Kay Wilson, candidate for CLUB SECRETARY

  • Proposed by Muriel Hodder
  • Seconded by Gavin Wilson
    • Approved nem con.

Yvette Barton, candidate to continue COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

  • Proposed by Tony Baker
  • Seconded by Gavin Wilson
    • Approved nem con.

Pauline Harris, candidate for COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

  • Proposed by Muriel Hodder
  • Seconded by Gavin Wilson
    • Approved nem con.

11. Hand over to new Chairman

Gavin Wilson thanked the outgoing committee for their work.

12. AOB

Ken England expressed some concern about the prospect of Bridgemates at the Club. TB assured him that any decision to introduce the things would be taken in consultation with the membership.

Wendy Stainer reported that, in the absence of nominations to take over from the retiring committee, she and David had investigated the possibility of handing over control of the Club to a commercial operator of duplicate bridge clubs. Five members then came came forward to stand for committee positions, so the investigation and negotiations were halted.

Other Attendees not on the outgoing Committee

Janet Adams — Elizabeth Adkins — Kais Bahrani — Nigel Barnes — Alison Blakely — Mary Blundell — Mary Bushell — Philip Chan — Christine Chevalier — Rosemary Collin — Bob Edmonds — Ken England — John French — George Gardiner — Joyce Grant — Maurice Grant — Elizabeth Gray — Dorothy Green — Bernard Harber — Margaret Harber — Pam Harries — Pauline Harris — Judy Hickman — Muriel Hodder — Sue Jackson — Wendy Johnson — Janet Kefford — Jill Latter — Joan Low — Robin McDonagh — June McKernan — John McKimmie — Kathryn McKimmie — Julie Minards — Jack Morris — Margaret Morris — Mike Mulligan — Pam Normington — Kay O’Gorman — Sue Osborne — Sue Rawlins — June Retter — June Rose — Moira Shearer — Sandra Simpson — Vida Smith — Jonathan Spring — John Taylor — Carol Wildig — Gavin Wilson — Kay Wilson.

Kay Wilson, 16th March 2017