Minutes of the AGM of Churchdown C A Bridge Club Monday 16th October 2023 at 12.50pm

Present:

Louise Keeling	Chair
Bren Prosser	Treasurer
Perry Poole	Secretary
Harold Grouse	Tournament Director
Alan Stanfield	Tournament Director

Members: Di Ainsworth, Jane Allison, Marlene Carter, Vivien Chadwick, June Davies, Ann Davis, Marcia Johncey, Liz McWalter, Hazel & Martin Murray, Rosemary Parker, Norman Partridge Marisa Percival, Carol Prouse, Chris Pullen, Kanwar & Veronica Rahim, Bill Richmond, David Rust, John Turner, Wynne Watts, Lesley Westcott, Carol Wheeler.

Apologies were received from Anita Freeman, Diana Hodges, Mike Jenkins, Malcolm Lay, Di Medland, Mike Pratt, Eleanor Walker.

Chair's Report

It has been a busy year for the club over the last twelve months. The move here has not gone as easily as we had hoped and we have had several issues with the bowling club, which we have resolved as best we could.

The cost of hiring the room and storing the equipment has increased but remains commensurate with the costs we would incur at the CCA. The committee consider that despite the issues that have arisen that this is still a good venue for our bridge group. The help with setting up the room before the session is still needed and appreciated and even more so at the end.

On a more positive note, thanks to Alan. we now have our own dealing machine. He negotiated on our behalf the financial support from GCBA in terms of a grant and a loan. Having a team of directors and scorers helps to share the responsibilities of organising the sessions. More volunteers are always needed to help with scoring and loading the dealing machine,

Finally, my thanks go to the committee for their support and hard work.

It was suggested that we move the MGBC tables to the side of the room rather than folding them up.

Treasurer's Report

Bren produced the accounts, which had been verified by Sean Pearce, showing an income of £4,750.34 and outgoings of £3,565.40, leaving a balance of £1,603.96.

TheTreasurer's Report was approved Proposed by Carol Wheeler Seconded by John Turner

Election of Officers

All officers had been proposed and seconded by members prior to the meeting.	
Chair	Louise Keeling
Treasurer	Bren Prosser
Secretary	Perry Poole
Directors	Harold Grouse, Alan Stanfield, Louise Keeling
Committee Member	Alan Stanfield
Scorers	Marisa Percival, Perry Poole, Alan Stanfield, Paul Hending

All appointments were carried unanimously.

Our thanks go to Mike Pratt who is leaving the committee.

Fees and Method of Payment

Fees will increase from 13th November to £3.50 and payments will only be taken by bank card, using the SumUp machine. Please allow extra time when arriving for this process.

Room Preparation and Start Time

At least one player per partnership must by seated by 13.05 to give the Director time to sort out the movement. If you know that you are going to be late, call Perry on 0775 733 7213.

At the end of play, please quietly put away the bidding boxes, bridgemates, boards and table cloths, leaving the tables until everyone has finished.

Presentation of the Club Trophies

The winners of the trophies were:

Mens Pairs: Paul Hending and Steve Mansfield

Ladies Pairs: Marisa Percival and Louise Keeling

Mixed Pairs: Sue and Paul Grierson

Handicapped Pairs: Di Ainsworth and Harold Grouse

Date of Next Meeting

Monday 21st October 2024